Subject Guides: Political Science: News

News and Journals

Use the links below to access popular and influential government news sources.

Aljazeera
The Economist
01/04/1992 - present In ABI/Inform (ProQuest)
The Financial Times
FT.com full site
Foreign Policy
From 03/01/1990 to present in Academic Search Complete.
The Guardian (London)
From 1998 to present in NewsBank: Access World News.
Jerusalem Post
From 10/21/1988 to present in Ethnic News Watch (ProQuest)
Le Monde
From 1999 to present in Nexis Uni
The National Interest
From 07/01/1995 to present in ProQuest Research Library.
The New York Times
Articles that appeared in print can be accessed in the database Proquest Historical Newspapers: New York Times. The database provides articles from 1851 to the present, so use the date limiter to specify a particular date or date range.
The Wall Street Journal
From 01/08/2010 to present in ABI/INFORM Complete
The Washington Post
From 02/23/2003 to present in Newspaper Source
See ProQuest Historical Newspapers database for older editions of the paper.
World News/BBC

Newspaper Databases

Use the databases below to search for newspapers and articles.

News This link opens in a new window
A full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. Comprises a collection of 2000+ national, international, state and local newspapers.
NewsBank: Access world news This link opens in a new window
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Provides coverage of regional, national, and international newspapers. Offers transcripts from radio and television programs, as well.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, including: print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; and business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.

For more news sources see the library's News research guide.

Fact Checking Sources

A few well-known fact checking websites.

FactCheck
A nonpartisan, nonprofit, "consumer advocate" project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania that monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and news releases.

PolitiFact

This organization checks the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.

Snopes
Internet reference source for urban legends, folklore, myths, rumors, and misinformation.

Lucy Scribner Library

Political Science: News

News and Journals

Newspaper Databases

Fact Checking Sources