Skip to Main Content
Skidmore College main website

Lucy Scribner Library

Find Articles: Google Scholar

Adding Lucy Scribner Library to Google Scholar

Change your Google Scholar Preferences so that links to full-text articles provided by Skidmore College appear in your search results.

   Go to Google Scholar

   Select the menu link adjacent to Google Scholar in the upper left corner 
   Select Settings

 

Use left navigation to select Library Links. Type "Skidmore College" in the search bar and then check "Lucy Scribner Library, Skidmore College - Skidmore Library Fulltext" and "Open WorldCat - Library Search."  Be sure to save your settings.

 

This setting will allow you to easily access the full text of your search results if available. The link(s) will be located to the right of the search result.

Making the Most of Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search Tips

To Search by Author:
Use the "author:" operator. Ex: author:"d knuth" or author:"donald e knuth"

To Search by Title
Use the paper's title in quotations. Ex: "A History of the China Sea".

To Sort By Date:
For better results, search only recent articles, but still sort them by relevance, not date.
Ex. click "Since 2012 in the left sidebar of the search results page.
To see the absolutely newest articles first, click "Sort by date" in the sidebar.

Note: On cell phones and tablets, the sidebar does not appear. These options are instead available in the dropdown menu labelled "Any Time"

Cited by:
Use this link to find more recent articles/papers, etc. relevant to the same topic.

Related Articles:
Use to find documents similar to the given search result.

Locating the Full Text of an Article

Full Text in Google Scholar

Abstracts are freely available for most of the articles in Google Scholar. However, the full-text may not be available through this platform. Here're a few things to try:

  1. If there is full-text, you should see the links to the right-hand side of the article. Make sure, however, that Lucy Scribner Library has been set as a library link in your Google Scholar settings. 
  2. If you don't find the full-text in Google Scholar, you can use our Journals search to look up the journal's title to see if we have access to the journal that published the article, for what dates, and in what databases. 
  3. If you still haven't found the full-text, you can request the article using Interlibrary Loan.