This three-volume set includes coverage of the traditional civil liberties: freedom of speech, press, religion, assembly, and petition. In addition, it also covers concerns such as privacy, the rights of the accused, and national security

A comprehensive and accessible compendium of information on civil rights and liberties in the United States.

Examines the history and hotly contested debates surrounding the concept and practice of civil liberties. It provides detailed history of court cases, events, Constitutional amendments and rights, personalities, and themes that have had an impact on our freedoms in America. The Encyclopedia appraises the state of civil liberties in America today, and examines growing concerns over the limiting of personal freedoms for the common good.

The articles in the set provide comprehensive coverage of all aspects of constitutional law. Judicial decisions handed down by the Supreme Court are also analyzed. Congressional laws, executive orders and other public acts are also examined.

Covers the political, historical, and cultural significance of the First Amendment. It provides exclusive, singular focus on what most people consider the essential elements of the Bill of Rights and the basic liberties that Americans enjoy. Arranged in traditional A to Z encyclopedia format, this work traces themes like expressive rights in American political and legal history, in American political thought and social movements, in political and popular culture, and in the arts, along with the classic tensions between freedom of the individual and maintenance of political order. The set also features a chronology, seven introductory essays covering the core rights and liberties, a bibliography, and subject and case indexes. Additional tables of content give readers easy ways to find entries by topic or case.

A five-volume encyclopedia on the history and historical impact of the Supreme Court of the United States. He includes 523 entries on specific court cases, 468 thematic essays, and 109 biographies (of justices, presidents, and other significant figures, such as William Blackstone, for example). The entries are cross-referenced and include short bibliographic guides to other sources.