Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Circulating books related to history are primarily located on the 2nd floor of the Scribner Library; you might be most interested in the following Library of Congress call number ranges:
C: Auxiliary Sciences of History (General)
D: World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Oceania
E-F: History of the Americas
Check out the library's Map to approximate a call number location.
Library Catalog (Beta)
Search items within the Lucy Scribner Library collection including books, ebooks, DVDs and streaming videos; browse the collection by call number, language, and format.
Search a global catalog holding over 500 million items, including books, films, music scores, maps, and archival materials. Many items can be obtained through interlibrary loan (ILL).
If you need an item that the library does not have, submit an interlibrary loan request. Most articles now arrive within 1-3 days!. Books can take 5-10 days to arrive.
ILL quick links:
- WorldCat (used primarily for books and book chapters; use the "Skidmore Interlibrary Loan" link when viewing an individual bibliographic record to submit your request(s).
E-Book Resources for History
For a more complete lists try our Primary Resources page for Books or the E-Books page.
ACLS Humanities E-Book
A collection of major scholarly works from all areas of the humanities, including online versions of printed works as well as original electronic publications.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800) This link opens in a new window
Covering American history and literature from the colonial period up to the eighteenth century, this database is a full-text digitization of the microform set Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800), which was itself based on the American bibliography of Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American bibliography.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) This link opens in a new window
Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) is the definitive online collection of early printed works in English, and works printed in England, making digital copies of over 146,000 titles from before 1700 discoverable through an interface tailored for early modern scholars.
Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new window
The Gerritsen Collection was begun by Aletta Jacobs Gerritsen in the late 1800s, and, when the work was finished in 1945, it was the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world. The online resource delivers two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works. It includes monographs, periodicals and pamphlets in fifteen languages, and is searchable by keyword and Boolean operators.