A New Nation Votes: American Election Returns, 1787-1825
A series of Web guides for the decades of the twentieth century. Features brief facts and an overview of art, architecture, literature, fads, fashion, education, media, people, and technology
America's National Game: The Albert G. Spalding Collection of Early Baseball Photographs
Hosted by NYPL Digital Gallery, the collection contains over 500 photographs, prints, drawings, caricatures, and printed illustrations from the personal collection of materials related to baseball and other sports gathered by the early baseball player and sporting-goods tycoon A. G. Spalding.
American Cultural History - The Twentieth Century
A series of Web guides for the decades of the twentieth century. Features brief facts and an overview of art, architecture, literature, fads, fashion, education, media, people, and technology.
American Memory from the Library of Congress
A multimedia Website of digitized historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, pamphlets, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congress.
American Women through Time
This site is designed as a timeline from prehistory to the present, and offers a gateway to notable web resources for historical research
Avalon Project at Yale Law School
Online documents in law, history and diplomacy, ancient times to the present
Black Past: Remembered and Reclaimed
A web site dedicated to providing reference materials to the general public on African American history in the United States and on the history of people of African ancestry around the world
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1890-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
Federal Government documents relating to U.S. democracy and society.
Crossroads: American Studies Web
The American Studies Crossroads Project provides a comprehensive and integrated platform for pedagogical, scholarly, and institutional information for the international American Studies Community. Under Research and Reference, it links to the American Studies Web.
Digital Library Collection of the LA84 Foundation
Sport-related scholarship from around the world.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. The DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used.
Famous Trials
An educational and non-commercial site developed by Douglas O. Linder and maintained at the University of Missouri-Kansas City Law School. Includes transcripts, maps, pictures, audio clips, primary documents and essays about important trials throughout history.
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
From the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and supported in part by a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, In Motion presents a new interpretation of African-American history, one that focuses on the self-motivated activities of peoples of African descent to remake themselves and their worlds.
Making of America (Cornell)
A digital library of primary resources from Cornell on American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction with an emphasis on education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Making of America (University of Michigan)
A digital library of primary resources from the University of Michigan on the antebellum period through reconstruction with an emphasis on education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Open Collections Program: Immigration to the United States 1789-1930
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, is a web-based collection of selected historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the US from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.
Primary Sources on the Web
From the University of California Berkeley Library, this is a selected list of websites containing primary source materials.
The American Presidency Project
Established in 1999 as a collaboration between John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Its archives contain over 75,000 documents related to the study of the Presidency.
Women Working, 1800 - 1930
Digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.