Subject Guides: Political Science: International Resources

Article Databases

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: IBSS This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window

JSTOR Political Science Journals

Google Scholar

UN Research Guides

UN Research Guides
The United Nations Das Hammarskjold Library provides a starting points for research on a variety of subjects, with links to databases, journals, United Nations official documents.

U.S. Department of State

A-Z List of Country and Area pages
Acces information on regional and bilateral policy issues, from the State Dept. bureaus for Africa, East Asia and the Pacific, Europe and Eurasia, the Near East, South and Central Asia, the Western Hemisphere, and International Organizations.

International Governments & Organizations

Links to Foreign Governments - from Northwestern University Library

Links to InterGovernmental Organizations - from Northwestern University Library

World Government Links - from GovSpot

United Nations - links to a wealth of information about UN programs and missions, member states, and maps

UN iLibrary is the comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations

NATO - information on NATO efforts around the world, and links to online archive of NATO publications

The European Union - links to member states, publications and items in the news

FIRST - Facts on International Relations and Security Trends (FIRST) includes information on arms production and trade, peacekeeping, and politics around the world and is provided by the Stockholm International Peace Institute in cooperation with many other international organizations

Foreign & International Legal Research

The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.

GlobaLex is an electronic legal publication dedicated to international and foreign law research published by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law.

Electronic Resource Guide; (ERG,) published online by the American Society of International Law (ASIL), is a self-guided tour of relevant, quality, up-to-date online resources covering important areas of international law.

Electronic Information System for International Law (EISIL) also from the American Society of International Law (ASIL) organizes and provides links to, and useful information on, web resources covering the full spectrum of international law.

LLRX.com, a web journal with information on a wide range of Internet research and technology-related issues, applications, resources and tools, including Comparative/Foreign Law and Government Resources.

Democratic Governance

Countries at the Crossroads by Sanja Tatic and Christopher Walker (eds.)
ISBN: 9780742558007
Published from 2004 to 2012, Countries at the Crossroads was an annual analysis of government performance in 70 strategically important countries worldwide that are at a critical crossroads in determining their political future.

Canadian Information

Canadian Government Information - one stop site for the Candian government, includes links to publications, forms, maps and also has an easy to use search engine.
Statistics Canada - links to many Canadian data sets, and infomation about the Candian census
The Canadian Province of Ontario - site includes links to news, forms, FAQ's, and travel and tourism in Ontario
The Canadian Province of Quebec - site includes good links for business, laws, road condtions, and two search engines

Country Infromation

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window Provides up-to-date information on the countries of the world. Coverage encompasses political, economic, investment, social, and environmental overviews.

The CIA World Factbook by Central Intelligence Agency
ISBN: 1634503287
Publication Date: 2015-11-24
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
The Europa World Year Book by Europa Europa Publications (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. -- JN1 .E85
ISBN: 9781857438192
Globally renowned for its accuracy, consistency and reliability, the Europa World Year Book 2016is your source for detailed country surveys containing the latest analytical, statistical and directory information for over 250 countries and territories. For ninety years since its first publication, the Europa World Year Bookhas been the premier source of contemporary political and socio-economic analysis for library reference shelves, offering timely information with a global reach. The Europa World Year Book 2016is also available online as an authoritative and regularly-updated digital resource. For more information, please visit: www.europaworld.com.
Political Handbook of the World by Lansford, Tom (ed.)
ISBN: 9781483371573
Publication Date: 2015
Entries on countries and territories around the world, the handbook provides descriptions and analyses of government, politics, and political structures, including information on political parties and names of key ambassadors, international memberships, and profiles intergovernmental organizations.