Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Primary Sources
Use these library databases and websites to find primary sources.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) I & II This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
Bringing together rare journals printed between c.1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century; will be comprised of numerous collections to be released over many years, including a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--in one cross-searchable location.
Popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new window
This database contains original archival materials about popular culture in the U.S. and U.K. from 1950 to 1975. Topics include student protests, civil rights, consumerism, the Vietnam War, and more.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full-text and full-image articles for selected newspapers dating back to the late 18th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in the stated time period, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
International Inventory of Musical Sources—Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM) aims for comprehensive documentation of extant musical sources worldwide. These primary sources are manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti. They are housed in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools, and private collections.
Primary Sources at Skidmore
The Tang's collection includes more than 14,000 objects representing a wide variety of materials, subject matter, and time periods.
An Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. It's produced by a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC).
Digital Collections at the Bodleian Library, one of the oldest and largest libraries in the world.
Digital Public Library of America
Brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, including works of art.
More than 700.000 fashion objects can be accessed, shared and promoted on-line. This portal brings together more than 30 public and private archives and museums, coming from 13 European countries, in order to collect and give public access to high quality digital fashion content, ranging from historical dresses to accessories, catwalk photographs, drawings, sketches, videos, and fashion catalogues.
HEARTH - Home Economics Archive
A core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines from 1857-1997.
The Making of America
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.