Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use these library databases and websites to find images.
Students and scholars of theater, as well as practitioners in these fields, will derive value from images of paintings, photographs, and drawings of costumes, venues, and staged performances — ancient to contemporary — as well as posed portraits and performance shots of notable figures, including playwrights, theater directors, set and costume designers, and actors.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download, and organize images.
Image Resources at Skidmore
Scribner Library's Digital Collections
The collections allow virtual browsing of materials from Skidmore's Special Collections and Archives.
(Library, ground level)
The Lab contains Mac computers, scanners, digital still cameras, digital video cameras, printers, CD-R/DVD-R burners, and graphics software for use in the production of multimedia materials.
(Case Center, 1st floor)
Print Services offers high-quality copy services, including color copies, poster printing, and more.
Visual Resources Collection (VRC)
(Library, 3rd floor)
The VRC supports faculty who wish to use images in the classroom. The collection, comprising more than 25,000 digital images, is hosted within ARTstor.