Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Book Reviews
Many of the discipline-specific databases (e.g. MLA, Historical Abstracts, Philosopher's Index) include citations to book reviews. Typically you can limit your search to "Reviews" under "Document Type" in the Advanced Search. (Terminology difers from database to database.)
Here are some other good resources for book reviews, especially from non-scholarly sources (i.e. magazines and newspapers)...
Our broadest search. Limit to "Reviews" under "Source Types."
Book review digest retrospective: 1908-1982.
An online record of books and reviews reflecting nearly eight decades of H.W. Wilson's Book Review Digest. The database covers some 300,000 books and provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of the most utilized subjects and topics. The database includes thousands of full-text titles, with a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, important and general interest magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the back issues of a multidisciplinary array of journals. Coverage includes the arts and humanities; the social and political sciences; mathematics and the hard sciences; and business and economics.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community around the world.
Selected Book Review Publications