Subject Guides: Classics: General Reference

Additional Resources for Classics

You may also find these additional subject guides helpful:

Oxford Classical Dictionary [Online 5th edition]
The essential single-volume resource about the ancient Greek and Roman world.
Oxford Classical Dictionary 4th edition (Print) DE5 .O9 2012
Brill's New Pauly Online
The essential multi-volume resource about the ancient Greek and Roman world.
Brill's New Pauly Supplements Online I
Includes Chronologies of the Ancient World, Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts, Historical Atlas of the Ancient World, The Reception of Myth and Mythology, The Reception of Classical Literature, and History of Classical Scholarship - A Biographical Dictionary.
Brill's New Pauly Supplements Online II
Includes History and Culture of Byzantium, Greek and Roman Military History, The Reception of Antiquity in the Enlightenment, Figures of Antiquity and Their Reception in Art, Literature and Music, The Reception of Antiquity in Renaissance Humanism, and The Early Mediterranean World, 1200–600 BC.
Brill's New Pauly (Print): Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World: Antiquity DE5 .N4813 2002
Brill's New Pauly (Print): Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World: Classical Tradition DE5 .N4813 2006
The Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization (Print) DE5 .C28 2006
Heavily illustrated single-volume resource about the ancient Greek and Roman world.
Encyclopedia of Ancient History [Online]
Comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship available on the entire ancient Mediterranean world

The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek [Online] The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is the English translation of Franco Montanari’s Vocabolario della Lingua Greca with 140,000 entries and new entries being added (online) on a regular basis,

________________________________________________

Contact:

jcosgrov@skidmore.edu
Lucy Scribner Library (Library 225)
(518) 580-5522

Research Help Desk
Fall 2024
Mon 12:00-2:00
Tue 4:00-6:00

Subjects: American Studies, Classics, English, Media & Film Studies, World Languages & Literatures