Here are the leading research databases for Environmental Studies.
Environment IndexThis link opens in a new windowEnvironment Index includes coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
GreenFILEThis link opens in a new windowGreenFILE is a research database covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. It provides thousands of open access full-text records from scholarly, government and general interest sources.
BIOSIS Citation IndexThis link opens in a new windowIncludes cited references to primary journal literature on biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. It covers original research reports and reviews in botany, zoology, and microbiology, and related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology, and interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology.
Web of Science Core CollectionThis link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection provides access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and conference proceedings. Includes current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
PAIS IndexThis link opens in a new windowThe PAIS Index covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowPubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 35 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s and selectively back to the 19th century. PubMed includes links to full text articles through PubMed Central (PMC) and other related resources.
MEDLINEThis link opens in a new windowMEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.
Science.govProvides a gateway to information resources at government science agencies. Subject coverage includes agriculture and food sciences; applied sciences and technology; astronomy and space; biology and nature; computers and communication; earth and ocean sciences; energy and energy conservation; environmental sciences; health and medicine; math, physics, and chemistry; natural resources and conservation; and science education.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowWeb database for scientific research that contains abstracts, articles and full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Skidmore's access to full text is limited to subscribed titles.
Sociological AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThe Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection includes the renowned AFSA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). It provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The collection also contains Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies WorldwideThis link opens in a new windowWildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide is the largest index to literature about wild mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians. It covers many wildlife subjects including individual species, habitat types, wildlife behavior, ecotourism and zoology.
Worldwide Political Science AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowProvides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy.
AGRICOLAThis link opens in a new windowProvides citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library. Encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including: the animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, and earth and environmental sciences.
Nation ArchiveThe Nation is America's oldest weekly magazine and one if its premier journals of opinion since its inception in 1865. The Nation has long been regarded as one of the country's definitive journalistic voices of writing on politics, culture, books and the arts and continues to stand as the independent voice in American journalism. This database contains indexing & abstracting and full text for the complete archive of The Nation beginning with its first issue in 1865 through to the present.
Multidisciplinary Databases
Academic Search UltimateThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Current Contents ConnectThis link opens in a new windowCurrent Contents Connect is a current awareness database that provides access to complete tables of contents, bibliographic information, and abstracts from recently published issues of leading scholarly journals, as well as from relevant, evaluated websites.
ProQuest Research LibraryThis link opens in a new windowFrom business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of the most utilized subjects and topics. The database includes thousands of full-text titles, with a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, important and general interest magazines.
Finding Full Text
Can't find the full text of an article? Look for this button:
If you need an item that the library does not have, submit an interlibrary loan request. Many articles now arrive within 1 day! Books can take 5-10 days to arrive.
WorldCat (used primarily for books and book chapters; use the "Skidmore Interlibrary Loan" link when viewing an individual bibliographic record to submit your request(s).
