Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's a bibliography?
What's a Bibilography?
A bibliography, often referred to as a "References" or a "Works Cited" page is an alphabetical list of all the materials (books, articles from journals, newspapers, interviews, web pages, etc.) used in the preparation of a research paper or that are referred to in the text of a research project. The purpose of a bibliography is to provide the information necessary to find the item listed. Each item listed is called a citation.
This tutorial provides an introduction to citing sources including the different citation styles, what sources need to be cited, the differences between in-text and bibliographic citations, and citation resources.
Print Guide - 7th Edition
APA Crash Course
This tutorial was created by Valencia and Seminole State College. It covers basics including formatting and citing.
MLA Handbook by
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021
Publication Date: 2021
2 copies - 1 in the Reference Collection and 1 at the Research Help Desk
RefWorks is a citation management system that allows you to create, edit, and save citations. Accounts are free to Skidmore students, faculty, and staff.
What's an annotated bibliography?
What's an Annotated Bibliography?
Annotated bibliographies include an annotation, which is a paragraph that describes and evaluates a resource.The annotation comes directly after the citation for the source. The summary usually includes a brief description of the contents of the resource, its value with respect to your topic, and a description of the author's particular viewpoint or bias. The tutorial below will outline all the required components and give examples of this type of bibliography.