Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browse/Search Contemporary Issues by Topic
Covers current issues of interest, from social and teen issues, to the environment, health, education, and science and technology. Each feature article is accompanied by comments from experts, lawmakers, and citizens on opposing sides of the issue.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing viewpoints in context covers today's hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, health care to immigration. The information provided is intended to help students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Room for Debate
In Room for Debate, The New York Times invites knowledgeable outside contributors to discuss news events and other timely issues.
Find Basic Facts and Background Information About Contempoary Isuues
One of the best ways to find basic facts and background information or to get a broad understanding of your topic is to use books and reference resources.
Reference & Research
The Library's Reference & Research subject pages pull together many useful resources for getting a basic understanding of a contemporary issue.
Find Articles on Contemporary Issues
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Nexis Uni provides access to more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, including: print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; and business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.
ProQuest Research Library
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of the most utilized subjects and topics. The database includes thousands of full-text titles, with a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, important and general interest magazines.
Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
Provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.