Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Films & Videos
Use these library databases and websites to find films and videos.
Streaming Music Video Databases
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online: Premium brings together on a single cross-searchable platform a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street Press video titles. Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines.
Films that aren't available for view in Kanopy may be requested by faculty for their courses. Please fill out the request form below the film.
Met Opera on Demand
More than 450 Met performances. Dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, '80s, '90s, and '00s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.
Music online: Classical music in video
Searchable database containing 1,000 hours of classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video--approximately 1,500 performances in all. The collection will contain performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Music & Performing Arts in Video
Music & performing arts in video combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles.
Naxos Video Library
A performing arts video library with over 300 operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. It includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, EuroArts, among others and is continuously updated.
Opera in Video
Contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
Swank Digital Campus
Swank Digital Campus provides colleges and universities with the largest academic streaming collection of its kind. Swank Digital Campus simplifies film distribution by providing faculty and students a legal streaming resource both on and off campus.
Music Video Websites
Great Performances: Music (PBS)
One of the longest-running performing arts anthologies on television. Features interviews, video clips, and other resources.
PBS Video: Arts
Watch programs about the world’s greatest artists—from the classic masters to up-and-coming talents - through PBS Video’s streaming video collection.
SnagFilms: Art & Music
Provides full-length arts documentaries for free through streaming video, whether from established heavyweights or first-time filmmakers.
Videos submitted by colleges and universites related to music.
Film Resources at Skidmore
(Library, room 113)
DocLab brings the tools of audiovisual media and documentary storytelling into the Skidmore curriculum. It offers a state-of-the-art Mac Pro computer lab, sound recording booth, modular virtual reality setup, and a large format flatbed scanner.
Media Viewing Room
(Library, Room 129)
The Media Viewing Room offers lounge seating, surround sound, a Blu-ray/DVD player, Region 2 DVD player, and laptop hook-up. It can be reserved through the Room Reservations link above.
Suggest a Film
If you would like to suggest a film for the library to purchase, fill out the form below!