Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Try some of these websites to find information about music.
All About Jazz
Provides information and opinion about jazz from the past, present, and future. AAJ delivers reviews of jazz from around the world as well as interviews international musicians.
All Music Guide
Provides artist/group biographies, album reviews, and discographies from all genres and styles of music including rock, jazz, R&B, rap, country, blues world, electronica and classical.
ArtsJournal - Music
Features daily links to stories culled from more than 200 English-language newspapers, magazines and publications featuring writing about music.
Center for Black Music Research
Documents and preserves information and materials related to the black music experience throughout the world. The website includes definitions and information on styles and genres, bibliographies and music lists, a discography of music of black composers, and resources for teachers.
Database containing information on composers, their works, musicians and reviews of CDs, DVDs, and books
Composer Diversity Database
Contains the profiles of composers from historically excluded groups
Opening the gateway to Europe’s sound and music heritage is the core of Europeana Sounds. Tens of thousands of audio items dating back to the invention of the first sound recorders are waiting to be discovered in numerous museums, archives and libraries throughout Europe. With their aggregation and digitisation, the voices and sounds of Europe will become accessible online.
Federal Ed Resources@FreeResources
Music teaching and learning resources from the federal government.
Future of Music Coalition
A nonprofit organization supporting a musical ecosystem where artists flourish and are compensated fairly and transparently for their work.
Harvard University: Online Resources for Music Scholars
Provides a basis for beginning electronic research on a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice. It collects links to archival collections, online scores and sound recordings; article indexes, discographies and bibliographies; scholarly societies; musical reference works; and websites.
Hip Hop Archive
Organizes and develops collections, initiates and participates in research activities, and acquires material culture associated with Hiphop in the U.S. and throughout the world.
Jazz Studies Online
Provides a wide range of digital resources - journal articles, book chapters, magazines, teaching materials, talks, internet links, and performances - to represent the diversity and innovation in jazz studies.
A cross-section of reviews of the latest releases in music. Metacritic uses Metascores to combine all of the individual critic scores into an overall grade, so users can gauge the critical consensus at a glance.
New York Times: Music
Music reviews, feature articles, and selected music event listings in the New York area.
Allows you to search the details of over 42,000 opera performances since August 2010. Check the annotated list of coming highlights, or browse the listings of over 200 festivals.
Provides reviews of current performances, recordings and books, interviews of performers, commentary and links to recent news items relating to opera and vocal music.
"Preserving and perpetuating jazz as an American national treasure - through collections, exhibitions, performances, recordings, publications, oral histories, and educational programs."
Includes more than 3,000 entries on alternative rock, including all five Trouser Press Record Guides (written in the '80s, covering everything from the '60s roots of punk and new wave to the end of the '80s). Also, the content of The Trouser Press Guide to '90s Rock.
Yale University: Music Resources on the Web
Provides quality websites on a wide variety of topics in music.