This is the "Home" page of the "Popular Fiction and Non-Fiction Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
LUCY Classic Catalog Ask A Librarian Comments Help Skidmore College Scribner Library Home Subjects Databases Books Images Journals Movies Music

Popular Fiction and Non-Fiction Collection  

Last Updated: May 17, 2013 URL: http://libguides.skidmore.edu/mcnaughton Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Popular Fiction and Non-Fiction Collection

The Popular Fiction and Non-Fiction Collection is a changing collection of current  best-sellers, popular fiction and non-fiction books, including graphic novels for your reading pleasure.  The collection is located on the main floor of the Lucy Scribner Library near the DVD and CD collections.   These books may be checked out for two weeks and are on a first come, first serve basis. The books are arranged on the shelves alphabetically by author and can be searched in the LUCY catalog by either author or title.

This guide is intended to aid you in your book selection as it identifies books by genre, see above tabs (adventure, biography, mystery,etc) and those most recently published.  Happy Reading!

 

May 2013: New Popular Books

Cover Art
Inferno - Brown, Dan
Call Number: 1st floor-- Near Circulation Desk
ISBN: 0385537859
Publication Date: 2013-05-14
A riddle yanks Harvard professor of symbology Robert Langdon into hidden passageways and the world of classic art, with a little cutting-edge science thrown in, as Langdon takes on the mystery behind Dante's 'Inferno.' (Suspense)

Cover Art
Dead, White, and Blue - Hart, Carolyn G.
Call Number: 1st floor-- Near Circulation Desk
ISBN: 9780425260777
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
With a Fourth of July Dance on the horizon, it's hard to focus on something as morbid as murder, but what Annie Darling can't figure out is why no one seems to notice or care that Shell, the woman every wife loves to hate, has vanished. When another islander goes missing, Annie and her husband wade through a world of adultery and blackmail on their way to stopping what looks more and more like a killer. (Mystery)

Cover Art
Red Moon - Percy, Benjamin
Call Number: 1st floor-- Near Circulation Desk
ISBN: 9781455501663
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
There is a menace among them, and the one man who can help may be turning into the very thing he's hunting. Clair Forrester's parents were killed by the government agents who broke in; Patrick Gamble is the sole survivor of a plane crash that's now named him a hero. As the night of the red moon approaches, Chase Williams vows to keep United States citizens safe from the strange world waiting at the door. (Horror)

 

April 2013: New Popular Books

Cover Art
Widow's Tears - Albert, Susan Wittig
Call Number: 1st floor-- Near Circulation Desk
ISBN: 0425255727
Publication Date: 2013-04-02
Claire, the grand niece of the caretaker of a mad woman from the 1900s, has inherited the woman's and wants to turn it into a bed and breakfast. But she is concerned that it’s haunted, so she calls in her friend Ruby—who has the gift of extrasensory perception—to check it out. China Bayles follows Ruby to the Blackwood house to discuss urgent business. As she is drawn into the mystery of the haunted house, China opens the door on some very real danger… (Mystery)

Cover Art
Maya's Notebook - Allende, Isabell
Call Number: 1st floor-- Near Circulation Desk
ISBN: 9780062105622
Publication Date: 2013-04-23
When Popo dies, Maya goes off the rails. Along with a circle of girlfriends known as "the vampires," she turns to drugs, alcohol, and petty crime--a downward spiral that eventually leads to Las Vegas and a dangerous underworld, with Maya caught between warring forces: a gang of assassins, the police, the FBI, and Interpol. She escapes into the care of an old friend of her grandmother’s, Manuel Arias, where she begins to record her story in her notebook, as she tries to make sense of her past and unravel the mysteries of her family and her own life. (Fiction)

Cover Art
Aunt Dimity and the Lost Prince - Atherton, Nancy
Call Number: 1st floor-- Near Circulation Desk
ISBN: 0670026689
Publication Date: 2013-04-18
While visiting a thrift shop, Lori Shepherd instantly recognizes an object she had only just recently seen at a bizarre Jacobean house-turned museum she had visited with her twin sons. Hoping to avoid any real commotion, Lori decides to speak with the museum curator, who turns out to be oddly uninterested in the theft. But there’s not much that could be done anyway for the Pickerings seem to have come into some money and moved to Australia. With Aunt Dimity’s otherworldly guidance, Lori’s search for the object’s true owner leads her to a tangled web of secrets stretching from the finest English country estates back to the blood-drenched soil of the Russian Revolution. (Mystery)

Cover Art
The Smart One - Close, Jennifer
Call Number: 1st floor-- Near Circulation Desk
ISBN: 9780307596864
Publication Date: 2013-04-02
From the author of the national best seller Girls in White Dresses (An "irresistible, pitch-perfect first novel." --Marie Claire): a gloriously funny new novel of sibling rivalry, thwarted expectations, and that place you return to when things go staggeringly awry: home. (Family)

Cover Art
Tuesday's Gone - French, Nicci
Call Number: 1st floor-- Near Circulation Desk
ISBN: 9780670025671
Publication Date: 2013-04-04
In Tuesday’s Gone, a London social worker makes a routine home visit only to discover her client, Michelle Doyce, serving afternoon tea to a naked, decomposing corpse. With no clues as to the dead man’s identity, Chief Inspector Karlsson again calls upon Frieda for help. She discovers that the body belongs to Robert Poole, con man extraordinaire. But Frieda can’t shake the feeling that the past isn’t done with her yet. Did someone kill Poole to embroil her in the investigation? And if so, is Frieda herself the next victim? (Mystery)

Cover Art
Wedding Night - Kinsella, Sophie
Call Number: 1st floor-- Near Circulation Desk
ISBN: 9780812993844
Publication Date: 2013-04-23
Lottie just knows that her boyfriend is going to propose during lunch at one of London’s fanciest restaurants. But when his big question involves a trip abroad, not a trip down the aisle, she’s completely crushed. So when Ben, an old flame, calls her out of the blue and reminds Lottie of their pact to get married if they were both still single at thirty, she jumps at the chance. No formal dates—just a quick march to the altar and a honeymoon on Ikonos, the sun-drenched Greek island where they first met years ago. (Chic Lit)

Cover Art
Lifetime - Marklund, Liza
Call Number: 1st floor-- Near Circulation Desk
ISBN: 9781451606973
Publication Date: 2013-04-09
Police Officer Nina Hoffman finds her fellow officer David Lindholm naked on his bed with bullets through his head and stomach. Next to the body is his wife, Julia. The traumatized Julia rambles on about a woman entering the house, killing David and running off with her son, but all the evidence seems to point in Julia’s direction. Annika Bengtzon covers the case and is drawn in headfirst when she sees that Julia is about to be falsely charged. Working against the clock, Annika must clear Julia’s name and find her missing son. (Mystery)

Cover Art
Mystery Writers of America Presents the Mystery Box - Meltzer, Brad (Editor)
Call Number: 1st floor-- Near Circulation Desk
ISBN: 1455512354
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
There's nothing more mysterious than a locked box. Whether it's a literal strongbox, an empty coffin, the inner workings of a scientist's mind, or an underground prison cell, there are those who will use any means necessary to unlock the secrets of...THE MYSTERY BOX. (Mystery)

Cover Art
The Blossom Sisters - Michaels, Fern
Call Number: 1st Floor-- Near Circulation Desk
ISBN: 0758286716
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
Gus Hollister owes all his success to his feisty grandmother, Rose, and he knows it. But now, Gus stands to lose everything — his home, his car, and his business. Worse, he’s alienated his beloved grandma, who tried to warn him about his wife Elaine’s greedy, gold-digging ways. Heartsick and remorseful, Gus returns to Rose’s Virginia farmhouse seeking shelter. Despite their pretty floral names, there’s nothing delicate about the Blossom sisters. With the help of close friends, new associates, and some very sprightly ladies, Gus begins to repair the damage he’s done and help the residents of Blossom Farm begin the next phase of their business. (Chic Lit)

Cover Art
The Interestings - Wolitzer, Meg
Call Number: 1st floor-- Near Circulation Desk
ISBN: 9781594488399
Publication Date: 2013-04-09
Not everyone can sustain the creativity and talent that seemed so special in adolescence. Jules Jacobson, an aspiring comic actress, eventually resigns herself to a more practical occupation and lifestyle. Her friend Jonah, a gifted musician, stops playing the guitar to become an engineer. But Ethan and Ash, Jules’s best friends stay true to their initial artistic dreams, and achieve the wealth and access that allow those dreams to keep expanding. The friendships endure and even prosper, but also underscore the differences in their fates, in what their talents have become and the shapes their lives have taken. (Fiction)

 

Previous Months

See tab above, Books Added in 2013, for more titles recently added to the Library's Popular Fiction & Non-Fiction Collection.

 

Search the Popular Fiction and Non-Fiction Collection

 

Recommended Reads

To recommend a book title or author for others to read from the Popular Fiction & Non-Fiction Collection use the "Comments" link below.

 

Recommended Purchases

To suggest a title, author, or genre preference for addition to the Popular Fiction & Non-Fiction Collection use the "Comments" link below.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip