Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skidmore College main website

Lucy Scribner Library

Popular Fiction and Non-Fiction Collection: Home

Recently Added Books

For Your Own Good

USA Today bestselling author Samantha Downing is back with her latest sneaky thriller set at a prestigious private school—complete with interfering parents, overeager students, and one teacher who just wants to teach them all a lesson…

The Forest of Vanishing Stars

The New York Times bestselling author of The Book of Lost Names returns with an evocative coming-of-age World War II story about a young woman who uses her knowledge of the wilderness to help Jewish refugees escape the Nazis—until a secret from her past threatens everything.

The Maidens

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Silent Patient comes a spellbinding tale of psychological suspense, weaving together Greek mythology, murder, and obsession, that further cements “Michaelides as a major player in the field” (Publishers Weekly).

The Girl from the Sea

Fifteen-year-old Morgan has a secret: She can't wait to escape the perfect little island where she lives. She's desperate to finish high school and escape her sad divorced mom, her volatile little brother, and worst of all, her great group of friends...who don't understand Morgan at all.

Survive the Night

It’s November 1991. Nirvana's in the tape deck, George H. W. Bush is in the White House, and movie-obsessed college student Charlie Jordan is in a car with a man who might be a serial killer.

Trejo

For the first time, the full, fascinating, and inspirational true story of Danny Trejo's journey from crime, prison, addiction, and loss to unexpected fame as Hollywood's favorite bad guy with a heart of gold.

Crying in H Mart

From the indie rockstar of Japanese Breakfast fame, and author of the viral 2018 New Yorker essay that shares the title of this book, an unflinching, powerful memoir about growing up Korean American, losing her mother, and forging her own identity.

Ace of Spades

Gossip Girl meets Get Out in Ace of Spades, a YA contemporary thriller by debut author Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé about two students, Devon & Chiamaka, and their struggles against an anonymous bully.

The Inheritance Games

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why -- or even who Tobias Hawthorne is.

Six Crimson Cranes

A princess in exile, a shapeshifting dragon, six enchanted cranes, and an unspeakable curse... Drawing from fairy tales and East Asian folklore, this original fantasy from the author of Spin the Dawn is perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone.

About
The Popular Fiction and Non-Fiction Collection is a changing collection of current best-sellers, popular fiction and non-fiction books that span authors, genres, and years.

You can use this LibGuide to see our recently added books and upcoming additions. If you're looking for something in particular and can't seem to find it, please request it through Inter-Library Loan.

New books are added every month, so check back often!

Want to search the collection?
If you are looking for a particular book in the collection, or want to see all books, you can use SearchMore to find them by going to "Library Location" on the left hand side, and selecting "Popular Fiction" on the show more pop up box. You can see all Popular Fiction books in the results, or search within the limiter.

 

Where are the books?
The collection is located on the main floor of the Lucy Scribner Library near the DVD and CD collections. These books may be checked out for two weeks, with one possible renewal, and are shelved by author's last name. Please visit us and browse the collection at your leisure!

 

 

 

Happy Reading!