Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skidmore College main website

Lucy Scribner Library

Popular Fiction and Non-Fiction Collection: Home

About
The Popular Fiction and Non-Fiction Collection is a changing collection of current best-sellers, popular fiction and non-fiction books that span authors, genres, and years.

You can use this LibGuide to see our McNaughton collection in full, organized by year and month. If you're looking for something in particular and can't seem to find it, please request it through Inter-Library Loan.

New books are added every month, so check back often!

Where are the books?
The collection is located on the main floor of the Lucy Scribner Library near the DVD and CD collections. These books may be checked out for two weeks, with two possible renewals, and are shelved by author's last name. Please visit us and browse the collection at your leisure!

Recently Added Books

Book Lovers

One summer. Two rivals. A plot twist they didn't see coming... (Romance)

Book of Night

A modern dark fantasy of betrayals, secret societies, and a dissolute thief of shadows, in the vein of Neil Gaiman and Erin Morgenstern. (Fantasy)

Queen of the Tiles

A teen girl is forced to investigate the mysterious death of her best friend a year after the fact when her Instagram comes back to life with cryptic posts and messages. (Mystery)

The Cartographers

A young woman discovers that a strange map in her deceased father’s belongings holds an incredible, deadly secret—one that will lead her on an extraordinary adventure and to the truth about her family’s dark history. (Fantasy)

You Sound Like a White Girl

Julissa Arce interweaves her own experiences with cultural commentary. She calls for a celebration of our uniqueness, our origins, our heritage, and the beauty of the differences that actually make us Americans. (Nonfiction)

The Atlas Six

A dark academic debut fantasy with an established cult following that reads like The Secret History meets The Umbrella Academy. (Fantasy)

Beautiful Country

An incandescent and heartrending memoir from an astonishing new talent, Beautiful Country puts readers in the shoes of an undocumented child living in poverty in the richest country in the world. (Biography)

The Well

The well requires repayment, but it doesn’t deal in coins. It needs wishes, and its minions will drown Lizzy in its depths if she doesn’t grant them. (Graphic Novel)

You Made a Fool of Death with Your Beauty

Emezi reimagines the love story in this fresh and seductive novel about a young woman seeking joy while healing from loss. (Fiction)