Subject Guides: Political Science: Census Information

U.S. Census

data.census.gov - as of July 2019, this is the new primary way to access Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more.
Census 2020 - The U.S. Census counts every resident in the United States. It is mandated by Article I, Section 2 of the Constitution and takes place every 10 years.
The American Community Survey - this national survey sample provides population and housing information every year instead of every ten years.
Publications of the U.S. Census Bureau - This page lists the most recent publications by the U.S. Census Bureau, covering such topics as education, employment, families, health, housing, income & poverty, and population.
- Historical Publications of the Census Bureau.
The IPUMS National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides free online access to summary statistics and GIS files for U.S. censuses and other nationwide surveys from 1790 through the present.
Census of Population (Saratoga Genealogy) - Genealogical information for the Censuses 1800 to 1900 for the Saratoga Area, Available on request from the Hoge Building, (Microfilm, HA 547 S37).

Statistical Abstract

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
Call Number: Online and at the reference desk
ISBN: 9781598885910
Authoritative and comprehensive compendium of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Statistical Abstract of the United States by GPO
Call Number: Reference Collection -- 1st floor: HA 202
ISBN: 1780394233
Access earlier editions (1878-2012) of the Statistical Abstract of the United States published by the U.S. federal government in PDF and ZIP formats, including the Bicentennial Edition: Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970.
Historical statistics of the United States : earliest times to the present/ Millennial ed. by editors in chief, Susan B. Carter [et al.].
Call Number: Reference Collection -- 1st floor: HA202 .H57 2006
ISBN: 0521817919
Publication Date: 2006
Long the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history, this is a revised update edition of Historical Statistics of the United States colonial times to 1970,Bicentennial ed. It is a comprehensive compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources recording every aspect of the history of the United States from population to prices; from voting patterns to Vietnam veterans; from energy to education; from abortions to zinc and everything in between.

Census Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of the United States Census by Anderson, Margo J.
Call Number: Reference Collection -- 1st Floor: HA37.U55 E53 2012
ISBN: 9781608710256
Publication Date: 2011
The Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census, Second Edition updates and expands a critically-acclaimed resource for the history, politics, content, procedures and uses of the decennial census of the American population. The new edition highlights changes in the Census Bureau's data collection and dissemination practices for the 2010 enumeration, including the use of a short-form questionnaire for the actual population count, and the release in late 2010 of the American Community Survey (ACS) 5-year data set based on rolling samples of the U.S. population and gathered using the long-form questionnaire. The Second Edition also comprehensively covers the fallout from the 2000 census and recent issues affecting the administration of the 2010 count.

Data Planet Statistical Datasets

Sage Data This link opens in a new window Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.

To locate Census data in this database, navigate to "Browse by Source" (Step One) in the left hand column. Within this folder, select "Census Bureau" (Step Two) for access to a variety of datasets from the US Census Bureau, including for example the Census 2010.

Step One:

Step Two:

Lucy Scribner Library

Political Science: Census Information

U.S. Census

Statistical Abstract

Census Encyclopedia

Data Planet Statistical Datasets