Covers the political history of presidential rhetoric and campaigns. The first part of the volume contains chronologically arranged entries describing the course and nature of each presidential campaign since 1789. The second part features longer, general entries focused on important figures, slogans, events, and ideas that gave each campaign its unique flavor.
Housed at the University of Oklahoma, the Archive is the largest most comprehensive collection of political advertising in the world, with more than 90,000 commercials, TV ads back to 1950, and radio spots back to 1936. Items can be viewed on site, or a limited number can be requested remotely via a temporary loan (fees apply).
Unique database that contains information on the airing of over 1.5 million ads between 1998 and 2008. You can view the codebooks online, but each campaign year's dataset costs $25 and must be requested separately. Allow plenty of time!
Successor to the Wisconsin Advertising Project. Covers 2008 forward; currently the full data is unavailable because of a 4 year embargo by Kantar Media/CMAG, who supply the data. There is some summary data and analysis available through the press releases of the project.
Archive of numerous campaign ads from presidential (2000-2012) and various California congressional and state elections (1994-present). Ads can be viewed online. Site also has publications based on the research done at the lab.
A collection of presidential campaign commercials from 1952-2012, put together by the Museum of the Moving Image. Browse by year, by type of ad, and by issue. You can make your own ad by combining historical footage with your own images and audio.
Collection of over 200 presidential campaign ads from 1952-2012. Ads can be browsed by various tags: candidate, election year, issue, theme, incumbent vs. challenger, winner vs. loser, positive vs. negative. Interesting option to be able to watch two videos side by side to compare.
Encyclopedia of Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues, and Platforms by 