Subject Guides: Scholarly Communication: Open Access Resources

Open Access - Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
PLOS - Public Library of Science
PLOS publishes a suite of peer-reviewed Open Access journals featuring quality research, expert commentary and critical analysis across all areas of science and medicine.
SpringerOpen
Open access journals and books.
Open Science Directory
About 13000 scientific journals are now available in the 'Open Science Directory'.

Data.gov
Catalog of open access government data, filters by agency, topic, format, geography.
US Census Bureau
This primary source of comprehensive U.S. population and demographic data includes American FactFinder, Quick Facts, Economic Census, Business Patterns and interactive mapping.
re3Data.org
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.

Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed.
College Open Textbooks
A collection of 29 organizations came together to create College Open Textbooks, and together they sponsored and reviewed over 100 textbooks in use on college campuses today.
Open SUNY Textbooks
Open SUNY Textbooks was established in 2012 by libraries in the State University of New York system to help publish open textbooks.
More OER resources

The Directory of Open Access Repositories - OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.
Digital Commons
Over 500 institutions use Digital Commons to showcase the quality of their scholarly work and expertise.
Repository 66 - Repository Maps
Compiled by Stuart Lewis, University of Wales Aberystwyth, from repository lists offered by ROAR and OpenDOAR.

Directory of Open Access Books (doab)
The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access.
Open Library
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published
Knowledge Unlatched (KU)
Knowledge Unlatched (KU) offers free access to scholarly content for every reader across the world.
OAPEN Library
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.

Pixabay
Free photos for commercial and private use - no attribution necessary.
Reusable Art
Images (mostly prints and drawings) from old magazines, books, and other print media, which are all public domain in the United States.
Public Domain Images
Browse by category or search for images. Varied categories; the site also includes vintage photography and space images.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals
Internet Archive
Open Access books, movies, images, software, music, and more.
Open Library
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published
BASE Content Source
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 100 million documents from more than 5,000 sources.
figshare
figshare is a repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner.

arXiv.org
An e-print service which presents papers in physics, mathematics, nonlinear science, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics. arXiv.org is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers which functions as a means of communicating ongoing research information in these subject areas.
PubMed Central
Free full-text archive of of biomedical and life sciences articles.
PLOS ONE - Public Library of Science
Open access articles in the the physical, health, and social sciences.

SciELO Citation Index This link opens in a new window SciELO Citation Index is a database index of open access journals covering research in Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Subjects covered include: Agricultural sciences; Applied social science; Biological sciences; Engineering; Exact and earth sciences; Health sciences; Linguistics, letters and arts; Mathematics; Physics; and Social sciences.

BioMed Central
BioMed Central Ltd., an independent publisher in London, England, provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.
Bentham Open
BENTHAM Open publishes a number of peer-reviewed, open access journals. These free-to-view online journals cover all major disciplines of science, medicine, technology and social sciences. BENTHAM Open provides researchers a platform to rapidly publish their research in a good-quality peer-reviewed journal.

SSRN
SSRN is a worldwide collaborative of over 352,400 authors and more than 2.2 million users that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of research.
SSOAR
The Social Science Open Access Repository contains both pre- and post-print articles from a wide range of the social sciences. It is certified by the German Initiative for Networked Information (DINI). It has both English and foreign language publications.
Bentham Open
Open access articles
Covering science, technology, medicine, and social sciences
arXiv.org
Open access articles in mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, and quantitative finance and statistics. From Cornell University.
PLOS ONE - Public Library of Science
Open access articles in the the physical, health, and social sciences.

JURN
Journals that provide free or significantly free content in arts and the humanities.
Open Library of the Humanities (OLH)
OHP is an international community of scholars, editors and readers with a focus on critical and cultural theory. We have operated as a independent volunteer initiative since 2006, promoting open access scholarship in journals, books and exploring new forms of scholarly communication.
Humanities Commons
Discover the latest open-access scholarship and teaching materials, make interdisciplinary connections, build a WordPress Web site, and increase the impact of your work by sharing it in the repository.
Open Music Library
Discover music, open-access. This database is brought to you by Alexander Street Press.