Subject Guides: Food Science: Databases

About Scribner Library

Lucy Scribner Library
skidref@skidmore.edu

Reference: (518) 580-5503

Circulation: (518) 580-5502

Lucy Scribner Library is dedicated to the educational and scholarly activities of the Skidmore community, and provides the resources and services necessary to support the College’s mission “to prepare liberally educated graduates to continue their quest for knowledge and to make the choices required of informed, responsible citizens.” Library personnel uphold and encourage inclusive excellence, creativity, and integrity throughout the learning process.

No matter where you are in the research process, we encourage you to ask for information consulting services. Email us your question or request a consultation. Reference librarians are here to assist.

Core Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
covers all aspects of biomedicine and foodborne illnesses
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window

AGRICOLA
Includes USDA information and is especially strong in nutrition education.

Additional Databases

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, articles and full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Skidmore's access to full text is limited to subscribed titles.
SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
SciFinder Scholar provides access to the CAplus database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, to CASREACT, to the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service, and to Medline. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations covered in Chemical Abstracts as well as articles currently being indexed, book reviews and biographical information.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides both full-text materials and references to patient and consumer health information, including: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc.; current year plus previous 4 years.