Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Films & Videos
Use these library databases to find films and videos.
Streaming Theater Video
Trial: Drama Online: The National Theatre Collection
Brings the stage to life through access to high-definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, the collections offer a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online: Premium brings together on a single cross-searchable platform a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street Press video titles. Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Includes full texts of plays from across the history of the theatre, ranging from Aeschylus to the present day. Includes non-English-language works in translation, scholarly and critical editions, first night program texts, and critical analysis and contextual information. Critical interpretations, theatre history surveys and major reference works on authors, movements, practitioners, periods and genres are included alongside performance and practitioner texts, acting and backstage guides.
Filmakers Library Online
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that offers thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines.
OntheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window
OntheBoards.tv is a website that offers high-quality videos of full-length performances by some of today's most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms that defy categorization.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Swank Digital Campus provides colleges and universities with the largest academic streaming collection of its kind. Swank Digital Campus simplifies film distribution by providing faculty and students a legal streaming resource both on and off campus.
Theatre in Video
This browsable and searchable database contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions.
Film Resources at Skidmore
(Library, room 113)
DocLab brings the tools of audiovisual media and documentary storytelling into the Skidmore curriculum. It offers a state-of-the-art Mac Pro computer lab, sound recording booth, modular virtual reality setup, and a large format flatbed scanner.
Media Viewing Room
(Library, Room 129)
The Media Viewing Room offers lounge seating, surround sound, a Blu-ray/DVD player, Region 2 DVD player, and laptop hook-up. It can be reserved through the Room Reservations link above.
Suggest a Film
If you would like to suggest a film for the library to purchase, fill out the form below!