Here are the leading research databases for Chemistry.
ACS PublicationsThis link opens in a new windowACS Publications provides access to the electronic full-text versions of nearly 100 titles published (or co-published) by the American Chemical Society. Select either "ACS Journals A-Z" or "Advanced Article Search" to get to the list of titles available. In addition, the ACS Legacy Archives provides access to the electronic full-text versions of all titles, volumes, issues, and articles published by the ACS from 1879 to 1995.
Web of Science Core CollectionThis link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection provides access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and conference proceedings. Includes current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.
SciFinder ScholarThis link opens in a new windowSciFinder Scholar provides access to the CAplus database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, to CASREACT, to the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service, and to Medline. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations covered in Chemical Abstracts as well as articles currently being indexed, book reviews and biographical information.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowPubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 35 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s and selectively back to the 19th century. PubMed includes links to full text articles through PubMed Central (PMC) and other related resources.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowWeb database for scientific research that contains abstracts, articles and full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Skidmore's access to full text is limited to subscribed titles.
BIOSIS Citation IndexThis link opens in a new windowIncludes cited references to primary journal literature on biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. It covers original research reports and reviews in botany, zoology, and microbiology, and related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology, and interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology.
Multidisciplinary Databases
Academic Search UltimateThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Current Contents ConnectThis link opens in a new windowCurrent Contents Connect is a current awareness database that provides access to complete tables of contents, bibliographic information, and abstracts from recently published issues of leading scholarly journals, as well as from relevant, evaluated websites.
ProQuest Research LibraryThis link opens in a new windowFrom business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of the most utilized subjects and topics. The database includes thousands of full-text titles, with a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, important and general interest magazines.
Finding Full Text
Can't find the full text of an article? Look for this button:
If you need an item that the library does not have, submit an interlibrary loan request. Many articles now arrive within 1 day! Books can take 5-10 days to arrive.
WorldCat (used primarily for books and book chapters; use the "Skidmore Interlibrary Loan" link when viewing an individual bibliographic record to submit your request(s).
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
ChemRxiv is a free submission, distribution and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas. Articles in this database have typically not yet gone through the peer-review process/
Provides a gateway to information resources at government science agencies. Subject coverage includes agriculture and food sciences; applied sciences and technology; astronomy and space; biology and nature; computers and communication; earth and ocean sciences; energy and energy conservation; environmental sciences; health and medicine; math, physics, and chemistry; natural resources and conservation; and science education.
Searches for chemicals by name or structure on this commercial site, which also provides molecular weights, density, etc. Chem exper's tools include a Chemical Calculator to calculate molecular weights and elemental percentages and a Property Explorer for chemicals in the database.
