Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skidmore College main website

Lucy Scribner Library

Gender Studies: Home

Gender Studies

Welcome!

This guide is designed to be a starting point for your Gender Studies research. Gender Studies, as defined in World of Sociology is "an interdisciplinary approach to studying gender that considers the nature of gender, its social construction, why and how gender is important in different cultures, and the ramifications of gender at the institutional and individual levels." 

Depending on your research topic you may need to consult subject pages in other disciplines, such as Anthropology, English, Government, and/or Biology.

Use the tabs along the top of this guide to explore different resources, such as recommended databases, books, or web sites.

For additional help with your research, please contact me (Barbara Norelli) or fill out a Research Consultation Request.

Resources for Gender and Women’s Studies

Coronavirus Information

Coronavirus Topic Guide:

 

 

Scribner Library provides a coronavirus topic guide to authoritative and reliable information sources on the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

Tips for Researching at Home

Set Google Scholar to Skidmore Library full-text links:

Follow these Instructions on how to accomplish this helpful task . https://libguides.skidmore.edu/c.php?g=35911&p=227915

New Database

Gender Studies Video Collections

LGBT Studies
Alexander Street Press' growing collections in LGBT Studies feature award-winning films, documentaries, interviews, and archival footage exploring the social, cultural, and political evolution of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. 

Women's Studies
(Full-text | Images | Audio) Women's and Gender Studies Video Online from Alexander Street Press contains films covering the study of gender, feminism, women's history, media studies, and politics. The films address issues of social justice, gender/sexual identity, gay and lesbian studies, and provide insights into the contributions of women to history, culture, and society. The collection is global in scope.

Subject Librarian

Barbara Norelli's picture
Barbara Norelli
Contact:
Social Sciences & Instructional Services Librarian
Lucy Scribner Library, Rm. 109
518-580-5513

Fall 2020 chat hours:
Mondays: 4:00 - 6:00 pm
Tuesdays: 2:00 - 4:00 pm