Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skidmore College main website

Lucy Scribner Library

Black Studies: Articles

Databases

Selected Black Studies Journals

Access Services Librarian

Andy Krzystyniak's picture
Andy Krzystyniak
Contact:
(518) 580-5465
akrzysty@skidmore.edu
Reference hours:
Wednesday 4-6pm and Thursday noon-2pm

Article Search Tips

References from an Article

Research Tip #1: Look at the Bibliography

If you've found a source that works well for your research, look at their bibliography. There's probably going to be a couple of sources that they've used that you should use as well.

Article with the Cited By tool circled

Research Tip #2: See Who Else Has Cited a Source

Google Scholar and many of our databases have a "Cited By" or "Times Cited" tool that lets you see what other sources have cited an article. If you've got a good article, see who else cited it. You'll probably find a couple of other sources relevant to your research.

The Subject Terms part of an article record from a library database

Research Tip #3: Look at the Subject Terms

Many of our databases will assign Subjects or Subject Terms to the articles, identifying the main topics of that article. Look at the Subject Terms to see if there are other search terms you should be trying in a database.

Popular, Scholarly, & Peer Reviewed Articles

Characteristics of Popular Sources
  • Publications often focus on a variety of topics or within a larger discipline.
  • Authors are typically staff writers or journalists.
  • Articles are written for the general public.
  • Articles tend to be shorter in length and provide more general information.
  • Sources are rarely listed within or at the end of an article.
Characteristics of Scholarly Sources
  • Publications often focus on a specific discipline or sub-discipline.
  • Authors are typically scholars and/or researchers.
  • Articles are written for faculty/researchers using technical terms and jargon.
  • Articles tend to be longer and focus on a very specific aspect of a topic.
  • Sources will be listed throughout and at the end of an article.
Peer Review
Also known as Refereed, peer review is a process where articles submitted to a journal for publication are reviewed by the author's peers (other scholars and researchers in the same field).  These peers determine if the article should be published and will also make recommendations for edits to the article before publication.
 
Video created by North Carolina State University Library
 
Limiting to Peer Reviewed Articles in the Databases
Most databases will offer a tool to limit your results to only articles from peer reviewed journals.  
 
No Peer Review Limiter
If you are in a database that does not offer a tool like this and must use a peer reviewed article, you can search the journal's website.  Usually, the website will provide information about the scope of the journal and whether articles go through a peer review process.