Subject Guides: Saratoga Springs and Skidmore History: Saratoga Springs History

Saratoga Springs History Room at the Saratoga Springs Public Library

The History Room at the public library holds an extensive collection of primary sources concerning Saratoga Springs and the surrounding towns and villages. It is open to visitors including walk-ins but have different hours than the public library. Visit their website for hours and for contact information.

Saratoga History Room - Saratoga Springs Public Library

Online Resources

Saratoga County Chamber of Commerce - Saratoga Springs History
National Monument Audit
This interactive map allows you to find information about the various monuments and landmarks around Saratoga Springs and the surrounding counties.
New York State Military Museum and Veterans Research Center
The mission of the New York State Military Museum and Veteran's Research Center is to preserve, interpret and disseminate the story, history and records of New York State's military forces and veterans. The collection is divided into the museum and the library/archives holdings.
Saratoga Springs History Museum
Located in the former Canfield Casino, the museum chronicles the history of Saratoga Springs. A museum pass is available for free admission at the Circulation desk.
Skidmore Saratoga Memory Project
Online archive and exhibition space developed by Skidmore's MDOCs and History department exploring the contemporary and historical life of Saratoga County and Skidmore College.
The George S. Bolster Collection – Saratoga Springs History Museum
The George S. Bolster Collection contains about 325,000 negatives of photographs taken in Saratoga Springs, New York. Some of these photos are available on the website.
Grant Cottage State Historic Site
Cottage where President Ulysses S. Grant died in 1885.

Local Newspapers

The main newspaper for Saratoga Springs is The Saratogian. The original name was The Daily Saratogian until 1901. There is some online access to past and current issues. Other issues are only available on microfilm.

1855-1910 - Online access available from NYS Historic Newspapers.
1911 - 2002 - Online access not available. Check with Saratoga Springs Public Library as they may have print or microfilm access for some of these years.
2003 - Present - NewsBank

NYS Historic Newspapers
Archive of local newspapers from around New York state including the Capitol Region. Includes The Daily Saratogian that ran till 1901 when it changed its name to The Saratogian.