Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Films & Videos
Use these library databases and websites to find films and videos.
STREAMING VIDEO COLLECTIONS
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online: Premium brings together on a single cross-searchable platform a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street Press video titles. Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage.
Art & Architecture in Video
This collection brings together films documenting the global ideas, creations, and personalities that shape art and architecture. It includes biographies, profiles of contemporary artists and architects, interviews, surveys of art history, aesthetics, theory, criticism, and more, spanning from Greek and Roman forms to the modern.
Black Studies in Video
Black Studies in Video is a signature Alexander Street collection featuring award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
Business and economics video online
Business & Economics brings together video in many formats, e-books, cases, original business documents for scholarly reference and learning and then compliments these many digital resources with teaching aids to offer a comprehensive e-learning suite. In support of the case method employed by top business schools, our diverse resources offer a unique look into the world of business and address the needs of scholars and faculty looking for an institutional resource for engaging content.
Music online: Classical music in video
Searchable database containing 1,000 hours of classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video--approximately 1,500 performances in all. The collection will contain performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video
Searchable database of streaming video files covering topics such as criminal law, criminology, criminal procedure, victimology, law enforcement, violent crime, courts and adjudication, crime typology, corrections, forensics, juvenile justice, substance abuse/re-entry, first responders.
Dance Online: Dance in Video
Searchable database containing streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances. Database users may create their own custom playlists and video clips.
Diversity in Video Online
Diversity features resources that illuminate the challenges, triumphs, and issues facing underrepresented, indigenous, and immigrant communities around the world. Hundreds of documentaries, interviews, biographies, performances, and lectures - which draw heavily on late 20th and early 21st century archival text and footage - create a rich platform for examining social, racial, and economic inequalities that shape communities at the local and global levels. Content offers opportunities for cross-cultural comparisons and localized, in-depth analyses relevant to Asian studies, black studies, LGBT studies, North American Indian studies, and women's studies.
Education in Video
Education in Video provides a large and rich online collection of video available for the study of teaching methods and education theory. Upon completion, the collection will contain more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
Ethnographic Video Online
Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures.
Film Studies Video Online
Film Studies Video Online provides essential streaming video collections to support teaching and research in film studies and related disciplines. The collections include a comprehensive offering of silent era films, which together represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Additionally, a contemporary collection offers award winning selections from over 60 countries, providing a window into a wide range of cultures and sociological issues around the world.
Filmakers Library Online
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Health Sciences in Video
Health and healthcare in video defines and explores medical progress in health and wellness issues. The collection uses documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews to bridge the gap between medical research and public understanding of health. The videos are designed for use by students, instructors, and the general population to better understand the realities of illness, wellness, and the modern healthcare system. Focus is on public health and medicine, epidemiology, pathology, geronotology, nutrition and wellness, childhood development, cultural and environmental health issues, mental health, and the experience of living with chronic conditions and diseases, such as multiple sclerosis, cerebral palsy, cognitive disorders, fibromyalgia, and obesity.
History in Video
History brings together key documentaries, commercial and governmental newsreels, public affairs and archival footage, and much more to facilitate research and teaching in a comparative, transnational, and thematic way. Areas of focus include Trade and Exploration, The American Revolutionary Era, The American Civil War, Imperialism and Colonialism, World War I, The Jazz Age, The Post-World War II Era, The Sixties, Women's History, Black History, and International Newsreels. Users can search thousands of hours to explore and analyze key events and topics from early encounters to the most recent events in global history.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines.
Films that aren't available for view in Kanopy may be requested by faculty for their courses. Please fill out the request form below the film.
LGBT Studies in Video
LGBT Studies in Video contains films covering the study of gender, media studies, and politics. The films address issues of social justice, gender/sexual identity, gay and lesbian studies, and provide insights into the contributions of women to history, culture, and society. The collection is global in scope.
Literature and Language in Video
Literature & Language in Video combines a variety of linguistic, cultural, and literary traditions in a way that allows users to explore and analyze themes and trends from around the world. Areas of focus include France, Spain, Germany, Russia, Japan, and China. Through interviews, biographies, and surveys of regional literature and literary periods, these titles offer researchers and students a comprehensive resource for study of literature through time and around the globe.
Music & Performing Arts in Video
Music & performing arts in video combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles.
Naxos Video Library
A performing arts video library with over 300 operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. It includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, EuroArts, among others and is continuously updated.
Politics and Current Affairs Video Online
Politics and current affairs video online brings together documentaries covering immigration and border studies, Middle East studies, urban studies, political science, globalization, human rights, and related topics.
Psychology & counseling video online
Psychology video online includes documentaries, interviews, case studies, and psychological experiments covering topics ranging from addiction, group psychology, feminist psychology, family psychology, children and adolescent psychology, depression, obsessive compulsive disorder, attention deficit disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, etc.
Science and Engineering Video Online
Science & Engineering offers a wide-ranging survey of engineering, environmental studies, natural history, and the physical and biological sciences, and focuses on their practical, ground-level applications. Thousands of documentaries, instructional materials, how-to guides, and lectures provide an engaging, hands-on framework from which to explore the inner workings of the cell, the outer workings of the solar system, and everything in between. Science and Engineering also examines larger issues around scientific exploration, such as patent law and ethics, fostering interdisciplinary conversations on key themes in the humanities and social sciences.
Social Sciences in Video
Social Sciences as a discipline covers a broad range of subjects concerned with humanity's efforts to understand itself and the world. Through raw field recordings, documentaries, newsreels, counseling transcripts and sessions, and much more, users can examine and connect personal, social, and spiritual aspects of the human condition. These materials facilitate exploration into humanity's interpersonal nature across politics, the criminal justice system, business, religion, psychology, public safety, anthropology, education, and studies of the environment and current events.
Sports Medicine & Exercise Science in Video
is focused on the best ways for people to exercise, how they can get into and maintain good fitness. Lectures, demonstrations, documentaries, and instructional materials cover the areas of fitness, health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more.
Swank Digital Campus
Swank Digital Campus provides colleges and universities with the largest academic streaming collection of its kind. Swank Digital Campus simplifies film distribution by providing faculty and students a legal streaming resource both on and off campus.
Theatre in Video
This browsable and searchable database contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions.
SUGGEST A DVD
If you would like to suggest a DVD for the library to purchase, just fill out the form below!