Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skidmore College main website

Lucy Scribner Library

Citing & RefWorks: Print and Online Resources

APA Resources

Online Guides
Print Guide - 7th Edition
Crash Course

MLA Resources

Online Guide
Print Guide

Chicago Resources

Online Guide
Print Guide - Notes/Bibliography
Print Guide - Author/Date

RefWorks Resources

RefWorks Guide

RefWorks Guide

RefWorks is a citation manager that lets you export citations from databases, catalogs, and the web into your account, organize your sources, and then cite them in most styles. Skidmore students, faculty, and staff can get a free account. Use our guide to get an introduction to RefWorks and learn how to make the most of it.

Other Citation Styles

Book cover with question mark on it

 

Other Citation Styles

APA, MLA, and Chicago are the most common citation styles used by undergraduate students, but they are far from the only ones. You may be required to cite in a different style, particular to your discipline. The library has copies of many other citation style manuals, so check the library catalog to see if one is available. You can also speak with a librarian who may know of additional online or print guides for that style.

 

What's a Bibilography?

A bibliography, often referred to as a "References" or a "Works Cited" page is an alphabetical list of all the materials (books, articles from journals, newspapers, interviews, web pages, etc.) used in the preparation of a research paper or that are referred to in the text of a research project. The purpose of a bibliography is to provide the information necessary to find the item listed. Each item listed is called a citation. 

What's an Annotated Bibliography?

Annotated bibliographies include an annotation, which is a paragraph that describes and evaluates a resource.The annotation comes directly after the citation for the source. The summary usually includes a brief description of the contents of the resource, its value with respect to your topic, and a description of the author's particular viewpoint or bias. The tutorial below will outline all the required components and give examples of this type of bibliography.