Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skidmore College main website

Lucy Scribner Library

History: Websites

History Websites

The Avalon Project at Yale Law School : Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
Documents from antiquity to the 21st century.

David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection has over 12,600 maps online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented. Collection categories include antique atlas, globe, school geography, maritime chart, state, county, city, pocket, wall, childrens and manuscript maps. The collection can be used to study history, genealogy and family history.

Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval History
The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies through a World Wide Web server at Georgetown University. The Labyrinth's easy-to-use menus and links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images on other servers around the world. Each user will be able to find an Ariadne's thread through the maze of information on the Web.

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
A program based at the Library of Congress which seeks to promote free access to the documentary heritage of the United States by providing cataloging for archives and historical societies around the country which do not have access to national online databases.

Working Women, 1800-1930
The collection is an exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression.