Subject Guides: Economics: Data

FRED

Federal Reserve Economic Data
FRED is an online database consisting of more than 156,000 economic data time series from 61 national, international, public, and private sources. FRED, created and maintained by Research Department at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, combines data with a powerful mix of tools that help the user understand, interact with, display, and disseminate the data

Use the Help link to to learn about FRED, or watch the FRED Video Tutorials from NYU Stern School of Business.

FRASER

Economic Data
This collection provides access to statistical releases and other data publications contained in FRASER.

Labor Statistics

ILOSTAT Database
Database maintained by the International Labour Office of the United Nations.
- Finding ILO statistics by theme
- R package for ILOSTAT
US Bureau of Labor Statistics Databases and Tables
Mostly US, but some international labor data.

Featured Database

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

U.S. Economic Census

Economic census
The Economic Census profiles the US economy every 5 years, from the national to the local level. Reports present national statistics for every sector and subsector of the economy.

Multi-subject data sources

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
Call Number: Online and at the reference desk
ISBN: 9781598885910
Authoritative and comprehensive compendium of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Use the Economic Research tab to access some common economic indicators, domestic and foreign, for time series analysis.

RFE: Resources For Economists: Data
American Economic Association's links to data on the Internet.
Data.gov
Search for government data from across the U.S. Federal Government.
• Enter keywords in the search box.
• Browse on the left side through types, tags, formats, groups, organization types, organizations, and categories. Clicking on multiple items narrows your search. You can click on the “x” to the side of any single item to remove it from the search, or “clear all” to remove all selected items in a category.
• Search by geospatial area by drawing a boundary box on the map at the left side and clicking “Apply” to find all datasets that are tagged for that geographic area.
UNdata
A global statistical database, covering all United Nations countries and areas.
World Development Indicators (WDI)
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
Data Citation Index
Part of Thomson Reuters' Web of Science, Data Citation Index provides access to research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation. These connections allow researchers to access an array of data across subjects and regions.

Subject Librarian

Jennifer Moore

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

Scribner Library 224

(518) 580-5518

Subjects: Economics, International Affairs, Management & Business, Political Science

BEA

Bureau of Economic Analysis
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA), an agency of the Department of Commerce, prepares national, regional, industry, and international accounts that present essential information on such key issues as economic growth, regional economic development, interindustry relationships, and the Nation's position in the world economy.

GIS

Geographic Information Systems
For GIS links and data sources see the Library Guide for the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Center. GIS is a framework for gathering, managing, analyzing, and communicating data.

dbnomics

DBnomics

DBnomics gives access to over 21,000 datasets from 62 data agencies around the world. If you are looking for time-series data from sources such as the European Central Bank, the United States Congressional Budget Office, the World Bank, the National Association of Realtors, or a country's national statistics office, you will want to check out all that DBnomics provides.

Stata client for DBnomics
In this presentation, you will learn how to use DBnomics in Stata
R package for DBnomics
For instruction, please click the "vignette" link on the R package page

Lucy Scribner Library

Economics: Data