Subject Guides: Religious Studies: Primary Sources

Primary Sources Resources

Primary Sources Guide
This guide provides access to the many databases, archives, and online repositories that offer primary sources. Use the tabs in the guide to find resources for specific types of sources.

Religious Texts - Print and Digitized

The library has print copies of many religious texts. Use the library catalog to find specific texts. When you locate the text on the shelf, additional copies will be next to it, especially when a work may be translated or annotated.

Because of the age of religious texts, many are in the public domain and can also be found online. Below are a handful of online resources.

The British Library - Turning the Pages
The British Library provides high-resolution scans of classic works including religious texts.
Project Gutenberg - Religion Bookshelf
Gutenberg Digital (Gutenberg Bible)
Goettingen State and University Library.
The Book of Mormon
The Church of Latter Day Saints
The Koran
University of Michigan Digital Collections
Bible in English
Presents 20 versions of the Bible from both Protestant and Catholic traditions.

Additional Primary Resources

Religions of America This link opens in a new window
Archive that traces the history of religious movements that originated in or were re-shaped by the United States during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Religion, Reform, and Society This link opens in a new window
Part of the Nineteenth century collections online, this archive provides essential documentary materials that explore religious and philosophical movements in reaction to dramatic changes in culture and society wrought by the industrial revolution and modernity.

ATLA Digital Library
Find archival, historical, and special collections in religion and theology from libraries, religious institutions, and archives worldwide.
Hymnary
Comprehensive index of hymns and hymnals

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800) This link opens in a new window
Covering American history and literature through the colonial period up to the eighteenth century
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) This link opens in a new window
Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window

Historical Newspaper Databases

The library has a variety of databases with access to newspaper articles from the last several centuries. For a full list of newspaper databases, visit the Primary Sources guide.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access to the full-text of 29 national and local newspapers with coverage starting in the 18th century.
NYS Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Local newspapers back to 1803 from throughout New York State.
NewsBank: Access world news This link opens in a new window
Both current and historical newspaper coverage from 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources.

Lucy Scribner Library

Religious Studies