Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skidmore College main website

Lucy Scribner Library

Federal Resources: Archival Government Resources

Archival Sites

  • CyberCemetery
    University of North Texas and FDsys provide permanent access to web sites and electronic publications of defunct U.S. government agencies and commissions.
  • Avalon Project
    Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy from Yale Law School.
  • National Archives and Records Administration
    "The Nation's Record Keeper" contains textual records, maps, carts, architectural and engineering drawings, photographs, film and sound recordings.
  • Core Documents of Our Democracy
  • Online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society, including links to the Constitution and other important historical documents.
  • American Memory: Government, Law & Politics Collections
    The Library of Congress American Memory gateway to its 22 Government & Law digitized collections which may be browsed individually, searched individually (including full-text searching for many written items), or searched across multiple collections.
  • National Security Archive
    The National Security Archive, of George Washington University, is the world's largest nongovernmental library of declassified U.S. documents on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.
  • PolicyArchive
    The Indiana University-Purdue University's Library and Center for Governmental Studies (CGS), provides a free and open digital archive of global, non-partisan, public policy research. The archive includes summaries and full texts, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia material of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research.

Federal datasets

Dataset: Data on the Net

A listing of Internet sites of numeric Social Science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses and more.

Dataset: ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Though Skidmore is NOT an ICPSR member, many of the datasets are freely availble for use. 

Dataset: Internet Data Sources for Social Scientists
An excellent compilation of links to data set resources. From Cornell University's Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research.

Removal of Government Information