Subject Guides: Federal Resources: Locating Documents

USA.gov

Search the official U.S. Government web portal.

FDsys - U.S. Government Printing Office provides access to federal government information
Science.gov - a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Congressional offers a comprehensive collection of congressional documents from 1789 to the present. Congressional hearings offer a unique perspective on all aspects of U.S. social, economic, and political history by presenting differing views from representatives of all societal sectors, including business, industry, labor, education, health, criminal justice, and government.

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
The PAIS Index covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.

Library Catalog
To locate government publications, both U.S. and New York State, in the Scribner LIbrary search the library catalog. Please be aware that not all of our government documents are cataloged. Government documents may be published in a variety of formats, including print, microfiche, or DVD, as well as on the web.
FDsys
After checking the library catalog, search the FDsys Monthly Catalog database for government documents published since 1976.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications and related titles:
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. These publications make up the National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. At present the Monthly Catalogshould be consulted for pre-1976 indexing.
- Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications. (1977-1995)
  4th Floor: Z 1223 A18
- Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications, 1900-1971.
  4th Floor: Z1223.A13 B8 1973
- Document Catalogue: Catalogue of the Public Documents of the ... Congress and of all Departments of the Government of the United States (1893 - 1940).
  4th Floor: Z 1223 A13

UMichigan Documents Center - Start Here
Information USA - provides extensive hyperlinks to selected sites and resources that provide a rich spectrum of information about the United States. Produced by the U.S. Information Agency.
Columbia University - ready reference to frequently used documents titles.
SUNY Buffalo - searchable popular government document brochures and pamphlets.
DOSFAN Electronic Research Collection - 1993 to present collection of US Foreign Policy information.
Federal R&D Project Summaries - portal for technical reports generated by federally funded R&D.
Leadership Information Archives - links to presidential libraries and museums from Hoover to present.
Government Forms - popular forms to download (e.g. IRS Tax Forms, Student Financial Aid Forms).