Disease & Nutrition
CIDRAP - Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy provides current information about the public health response and preparedness for emerging infectious diseases.
U.S. Food & Drug Administration - The food section of the FDA website includes information on recalls, outbreaks, & emergencies, foodborne illness & contaminants, and more.
PsycINFO - Identifies articles, books and dissertations in psychology and related subjects, many with links to full text, 1806 to current.
PubMed - Identifies articles in clinical and biomedical research.
Turning Research into Practice - Search engine to retrieve evidence-based research from medical journals, Cochrane Systematic reviews, clinical guidelines, etc.
World Health Organization - The directing and coordinating authority on international health within the United Nations’ system.
Environment
NAL Catalog (AGRICOLA) - Covers publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental science.
ScienceDirect - Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, articles and full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Skidmore's access to full text is limited to subscribed titles.
GreenFile - Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.
USGS - Scientific information about natural hazards that threaten lives and livelihoods, the water, energy, minerals, and other natural resources people rely on, the health of our ecosystems and environment, and the impacts of climate and land-use change.
Web of Science - Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from all disciplines, some with links to full text
Policy
World Health Organization - The directing and coordinating authority on international health within the United Nations’ system.
DataPlanet Statistical Dataset - Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
OECD iLibrary - The OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 – as well as a vast collection of statistics, with data going back to the early 1960s and more than 80 countries are covered.
CountryWatch - Provides up-to-date information on the countries of the world. Coverage encompasses: a political overview, with news, maps, political history, governmental structure and principal officials, political conditions, foreign relations, and military information; an economic overview, including macroeconomic data, key sector data, and global ranking tables; an investment overview, including taxation and key enterprises; a social overview, including, social etiquette, travel guides and health advisories; and an environmental overview, including environmental issues and pollution trends.
Social Determinants of Health
Rio Political Declaration on Social Determinants of Health - Adopted during the World Conference on Social Determinants of Health on 21 October 2011, the declaration expresses global political commitment for the implementation of a social determinants of health approach to reduce health inequities and to achieve other global priorities.
ERIC - Education and related topics - journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs
Health Management Database - Resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations
SocINDEX (EBSCO) Identifies articles, books and other resources in sociology, anthropology, education, and other social sciences
Sociological Abstracts - Sociological Abstracts indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
PsycINFO Full text literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work
World Health Organization - The directing and coordinating authority on international health within the United Nations’ system.
Toxicology
ATSDR Toxic Substances Portal - Includes documents on specific substances, toxicological information by health effect or chemical class, toxicological information by audience
Lexicomp - Navigate to the Toxicology database for indices of antidotes & decontaminants, agents of toxicity, and material safety data sheets (MSDS) for drugs.
DART through PubMed - Developmental and reproductive toxicology database through topic-specific queries in Pubmed.
TOXLINE through PubMed - Toxicology information covering biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and chemicals.
