Subject Guides: Public Health: Articles

Primary Databases for Public Health

Here are the leading research databases for Public Health.

AgeLine This link opens in a new window An online database containing detailed summaries of publications about older adults and aging, including books, journal and magazine articles, research reports, dissertations, and videos. Users can search AgeLine by various options, such as subject, author, title, keywords, etc.; publication coverage is from 1978 to the present.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window Provides citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library. Encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including: the animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, and earth and environmental sciences.
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window Provides both full-text materials and references to patient and consumer health information, including: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc.; current year plus previous 4 years.
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Provides access to scholarly and peer-reviewed journals across the medical disciplines, with a focus on nursing and the allied health fields. Covers such subjects as the medical sciences, psychology, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, health care law and general health. Also provides reference resources to assist the user with the vocabulary of medicine, including the terminologies of genetics, oncology, pediatrics, pulmonology, emergency medicine, bacteriology, and laboratory medicine.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 35 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s and selectively back to the 19th century. PubMed includes links to full text articles through PubMed Central (PMC) and other related resources.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, articles and full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Skidmore's access to full text is limited to subscribed titles.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Web of Science Core Collection provides access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and conference proceedings. Includes current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Current Contents Connect This link opens in a new window Current Contents Connect is a current awareness database that provides access to complete tables of contents, bibliographic information, and abstracts from recently published issues of leading scholarly journals, as well as from relevant, evaluated websites.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of the most utilized subjects and topics. The database includes thousands of full-text titles, with a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, important and general interest magazines.

SearchMore

SearchMore allows you to search most of the databases and the book catalog with one search.

It's great to use when starting your research or when trying to select a topic. Because it's such a large search, use the limiters to narrow your results to specific types of sources, dates of publication, peer review, etc.

Discovery
Search the Library's catalog and databases with this single search.

Finding Full Text

Can't find the full text of an article? Look for this button:

Learn more tips for finding articles!

Journal Search

Interlibrary Loan

If you need an item that the library does not have, submit an interlibrary loan request. Most articles and books now arrive within 3 days!

ILL quick links:

Lucy Scribner Library