Subject Guides: Social Work: Books

Discovery Search

Search for books, eBooks, DVDs, and other physical materials housed within Lucy Scribner Library. This search will search our catalog and many library databases, so you must use the Source Type filter (under All Filters) to limit to the type of source you want like Books and eBooks.

Discovery
Library Catalog
If you are only looking for print books and other physical materials in the library, you can also use the library catalog.

WorldCat

Use WorldCat to search libraries across the country and world to find and request books using Interlibrary Loan (ILL) (5-8 business day delivery time).

WorldCat This link opens in a new window

Request Book Chapters

While books are physically sent to the library, a book chapter can be requested and is sent electronically as a PDF. If you only need a single chapter from a book, use the "Book Chapter" form in your ILL account. You'll have access to the PDF within 1-3 business days.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Where's My Book?

Social Work books will be located within the call numbers that begin with the letters HV. Social Work is interdisciplinary, so you will also be looking in related areas that start with some of the call numbers below. If you're searching for a particular book, check the catalog. The library uses the Library of Congress Classification system to organize its books.

H - Social Sciences

HM - Sociology

HN - Social History

HQ - The Family. Marriage. Women.

HS - Societies

HQ - Communities. Classes. Races.

HV - Social Pathology. Social and Public Welfare. Criminology

BF - Psychology

Reference Sources

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources provide basic information on a topic like names, dates, and definitions. These are great resources to use when narrowing down a topic or to look up unfamiliar terms and concepts when reading scholarly publications like journal articles.

Subject-Specific Reference Sources

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff
Call Number: RC455.2.C4 D54 2013
ISBN: 9780890425541
Publication Date: 2013
1 copy available at the Circulation desk and 1 copyavailable in the Circulating collection
The Encyclopedia of Social Work by Terry Mizrahi & Larry E. Davis
Call Number: HV12 .E53 2008 (4 vols.)
ISBN: 9780195306613
Publication Date: 2008

General Online Reference Sources

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window Oxford Reference brings together nearly 200 language and subject reference works in a single cross-searchable resource. Works in the collection include an expanding range of key titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions series, the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations, many English-language and bilingual dictionaries, as well as subject encyclopedias and dictionaries in a wide range of subject areas.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window Consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database; articles not yet in the print Britannica; Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary (eleventh edition); and: the Britannica book of the year.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 3 million entries from 400+ aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers. Included are dictionaries, subject encyclopedias, handbooks, gazetteers, atlases, directories, and more.