Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Research tool that allows you to visually analyze and understand the demography of the U.S. through the use of interactive maps and data reports.
Tableau Foundation Data Equity Hub
Data Equity Hub from the Tableau Foundation
Tableau Foundation’s Data Equity Hub shares insights from leading experts at the intersection of data and equity issues, and inspires anyone to effectively and ethically use data to advocate for change.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Search for government data from across the U.S. Federal Government.
• Enter keywords in the search box.
• Browse on the left side through types, tags, formats, groups, organization types, organizations, and categories. Clicking on multiple items narrows your search. You can click on the “x” to the side of any single item to remove it from the search, or “clear all” to remove all selected items in a category.
• Search by geospatial area by drawing a boundary box on the map at the left side and clicking “Apply” to find all datasets that are tagged for that geographic area.
The AARP Public Policy Institute, Surveys & Statistics undertakes research on the attitudes of midlife and older adults on a wide range of issues, including Social Security, Medicare, prescription drugs, taxation, and consumer protection; anticipates and tracks emerging social trends, such as changing midlife divorce rates, evolving racial attitudes, and boomers’ civic involvement; and explores the forces that impact older Americans’ lives, including advocacy, economic security, and health care reform.
American Community Survey
Part of the US Census Bureau, the American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that provides vital information on a yearly basis about America and its people.
CensusScope is an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends, brought to you by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan.
This web site offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education.
Ciser Data Archive
Database of social and economic datasets created and maintained by the Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
The County Health Rankings & Roadmaps program is a collaboration between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute. The annual County Health Rankings measure vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income inequality, and teen births in nearly every county in America.
FBI Crime Statistics
Publishes statistical reports on several types of crime. Publications include Crime in the US and Hate Crime Statistics.
GSS - General Social Survey - Date Explorer
The GSS is widely regarded as the single best source of data on societal trends. The 1972-2012 GSS has 5,545 variables, time-trends for 2,072 variables, and 268 trends having 20+ data points.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
The Web site provides quick and easy access, with efficient search and browse capabilities, to the world's largest archive of more than 28 digital datasets in social sciences and related areas. The site also provides information about ICPSR and its services and programs, as well as other related resources and instructional documentation.
IPUMS (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series)
Database of United States and International population data. Created by the Minnesota Population Center.
National Center for Education Statistics
"The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations." -NCES website
National Institute for Justice
"The National Institute of Justice — the research, development and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice — is dedicated to improving knowledge and understanding of crime and justice issues through science. NIJ provides objective and independent knowledge and tools to reduce crime and promote justice, particularly at the state and local levels." - NIJ website
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions. - website
Social Progress Index
The Social Progress Index was created in 2013 to gauge the well-being of a country's inhabitants using noneconomic measures. It currently covers 99% of the world's populations with full coverage of 133 countries and partial coverage of 28. Datasets can be downloaded and include information for 52 indicators.
UH Human Development Reports
The Human Development Report has been released most years since 1990 and is a worldwide analysis of the factors that affect human development including income, education, environmental impact, etc.
Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.
US Census - Data Tools and Apps
Explore a variety of tools and applications that you can use to find and analyze census data.
World Happiness Report
"The World Happiness Report is a landmark survey of the state of global happiness. The first report was published in 2012, the second in 2013, and the third in 2015. The reports review the state of happiness in the world today and show how the new science of happiness explains personal and national variations in happiness."
World Values Survey
"The WVS is the largest non-commercial, cross-national, time series investigation of human beliefs and values ever executed, currently including interviews with almost 400,000 respondents. Moreover the WVS is the only academic study covering the full range of global variations, from very poor to very rich countries, in all of the world’s major cultural zones."-WVS website