Q1: Where do I find a company’s Annual Report?
A: Annual Reports may be found in several places:
A company's web site is usually the first place to look for an annual report. It may be under "Investor Relations" or "Financials." If not, try one of the following resources:
- MergentOnline
Annual Reports - available after search for company
- Public Register Annual Report Service
America's largest annual report service. Company financials, including annual reports, prospectuses or 10k's on over 3,200 public companies are available without charge to the investing public.
Q2: Where do I find Country Information?
A: Try the following resources.
- CountryWatch Breaking news developments in all the world's countries and a substantial set of geopolitical and business background information and data on individual countries.
- The Europa World Year Book. (Ref JN1 .E85)
- Foreign Governments Web Links Links to foreign government web sites from Northwestern University Library.
- MergentOnline
- Country Profiles - select country from home page
- Export.gov Conduct a search for market research reports on specific countries and sectors please consult the Commerce Department’s Market Research Library. Market entry strategies should be considered on by-country basis. For details of these tactics, please consult the Commerce Department’s Country Commercial Guides found following website: Country Commercial Guides.
- The World Factbook (CIA) The World Factbook is produced by CIA's Directorate of Intelligence. The Factbook is a comprehensive resource of facts and statistics on more than 250 countries and other entities.
Q3: How do I locate current business news articles?
A: For current newspaper and periodical citations on business topics search the Library's online databases.
- Business Periodical Databases:
- ABI/INFORM Global (ProQuest) Covers business-related periodicals providing information on a range of subjects, including accounting, management, finance, marketing, corporate finance, organizational behavior, managerial economics, information systems, telecommunications, health care administration and economics.
- Business Source Complete (Ebscohost) Provides full text for over 10,000 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,150 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. Datamonitor reports are available here.
- LexisNexis academic
- News tab
- Search Within: Major U.S. and World Publications
- Business tab
- Search company name
- Select appropriate company
- Use left navigation links for news stories by top publication / topic / region
Q4: How do I find what a company spent on advertising?
A: Standard Directory of Advertisers (Ref HF 5805 S7) includes company advertising budgets. Also, Annual reports may contain the advertising budget for a company. For specific product advertising campaigns try a periodical database search.
Also, Advertising Age's datacenter produces the 100 Leading National Advertisers: 2009 edition Index with ad spending estimates for top 100 ad spenders.
Q5: Where do I find advertising rates?
A: For television advertising rates consult the Media Market Guide, HF 5826.5 M42, in Permanent Miscellaneous Reserves (and held at the Circulation Desk).
Also, Advertising Age prepares a TV Price Chart with the average ad rates for prime time television shows.
Consult the following print SRDS (Standard Rate & Sata Service) publications for other mediums: (on Permanent Miscellaneous Reserve / ask for these at the Library Circulation Desk)
Business Publication Advertising Source - HF 5905 S723 2007
Radio Advertising Source - HF 6146 R3 S7 2006
TV & Cable Source - HF 5905 S745 2007
The Marketer's Guide to Media, Ref. HF 5826.5 M45, is especially useful for finding outdoor/out-of-home/transit advertising costs. (In the Reference collection, 1st floor)
Q6: Where can I find the cost of renting retail space?
A: There is not always an easy answer to this question. The cost of space varies from location to location even within a specific town or city. Try:
- Collier's International Collier's Market Reports provide information on real estate conditions around the world from a global, regional and local perspective.
- Try calling the realty management group for the space you are considering or a comparable building.
- Try searching the local newspapers for articles on the cost of business or commercial space.
Q7: What can I do if I can't find the information I am looking for?
A: Sometimes there is no specific answer to your question. Things to try:
- Look at the competition.
- Try an analogous product, company or industry.
- Use personal contacts or experiences to reach a reasonable conclusion.
Q8: Is there a library room available for use by MB 107 teams to meet and/or practice presentations?
A: Yes, the library has many group study rooms available on a first come first serve basis. Library Room 118 (BI Rm.) is often available in the evening and on weekends for student use.
Q9: Where can I find supply chain information?
A: Try the following resources:
- 10K- The annual report on Form 10-K provides a comprehensive overview of the company's business and financial condition and includes audited financial statements.
- Accessible through Mergent Online (select 10K under 3:Filing Type) and LexisNexis Academic Business (select 10-K under Sources)
- In the html or Word document, use Ctrl+F to search for word stems such as suppl and distrib
- Business Source Complete
- Enter the company name in the Company Entity field
- Enter in the Subject Terms field
