Subject Guides: Anthropology: Books

Discovery Search

Search for books, eBooks, DVDs, and other physical materials housed within Lucy Scribner Library. This search will search our catalog and many library databases, so you must use the Source Type filter (under All Filters) to limit to the type of source you want like Books and eBooks.

Discovery
Library Catalog
If you are only looking for print books and other physical materials in the library, you can also use the library catalog.

WorldCat

Use WorldCat to search libraries across the country and world to find and request books using Interlibrary Loan (ILL) (5-8 business day delivery time).

WorldCat This link opens in a new window

Request Book Chapters

While books are physically sent to the library, a book chapter can be requested and is sent electronically as a PDF. If you only need a single chapter from a book, use the "Book Chapter" form in your ILL account. You'll have access to the PDF within 1-3 business days.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Where's My Book?

Most Anthropology and Archaeology books will be located on the 2nd floor of the library.

The call numbers for Anthropology begin with the letters GN.
The call numbers for Archaeology begin with the letters CC.
Books about Native Americans begin with the call number E (United States History).
Books about indigenous tribes of Central and South Americas (such as the Maya, Inca, and Aztec) begin with the call number F.

If you're searching for a particular book, check the catalog. Since Anthropology can be interdisciplinary, your book may be located in a different subject area.

Reference Sources

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources provide basic information on a topic like names, dates, and definitions. These are great resources to use when narrowing down a topic or to look up unfamiliar terms and concepts when reading scholarly publications like journal articles.

Subject-Specific Online Reference Sources

The International Encyclopedia of Anthropology by Hilary Callan The International Encyclopedia of Anthropology is the most complete reference resource for the field of anthropology and interrelated areas, providing an authoritative and expert overview of the concepts, research, and techniques that together define the discipline. Under the guidance of Editor-in-Chief Hilary Callan - former director of the Royal Anthropological Institute (2000-2010) - and fourteen internationally-respected voices acting as Associate Editors, the Encyclopedia features contributions from a team of over 800 international scholars making this a work of unparalleled depth and breadth of knowledge. Over 1,000 entries, ranging from concise summaries to longer writings, present the reader with in-depth discussions of hundreds of key topics, including: ecology, human evolution, gender, health, language and education, kinship, politics, and power, as well as biographical entries of many of the world's most influential founding anthropologists. Organized alphabetically and written for both the specialist and the general reader, the Encyclopedia is a landmark reference resource for students and scholars engaged within the broad and dynamic field of anthropology, and those studying and working within the related disciplines of psychology, medicine, religious studies, and sociology. This work is also available as an online resource at www.encyclopediaofanthropology.com.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0470657227
Publication Date: 2018
Encyclopedia of Archaeology by Deborah M. Pearsall
Call Number: CC70 .E53 2008
ISBN: 9780125480307
Publication Date: 2007
3 Volumes
Available both in print and electronically.

General Online Reference Sources

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window Oxford Reference brings together nearly 200 language and subject reference works in a single cross-searchable resource. Works in the collection include an expanding range of key titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions series, the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations, many English-language and bilingual dictionaries, as well as subject encyclopedias and dictionaries in a wide range of subject areas.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window Consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database; articles not yet in the print Britannica; Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary (eleventh edition); and: the Britannica book of the year.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 3 million entries from 400+ aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers. Included are dictionaries, subject encyclopedias, handbooks, gazetteers, atlases, directories, and more.