Subject Guides: International Affairs: Country Information

Article Databases

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: IBSS This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary Databases

Scroll over database for a description.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Academic oneFile This link opens in a new window
Current Contents Connect This link opens in a new window

ArticleFirst

Google Search

Global Legal Research Tools

GlobaLex is an electronic legal publication dedicated to international and foreign law research published by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law.

See specific GlobaLex subtopics which provide information and articles that represent both research and teaching resources used by legal academics, practitioners and other specialists around the world who are active either in foreign, international, and comparative law research or those focusing on their own domestic law. The guides and articles published are written by scholars well known in their respective fields.

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window Provides up-to-date information on the countries of the world. Coverage encompasses political, economic, investment, social, and environmental overviews.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete provides full text for over 10,000 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,150 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. This database is updated on a daily basis.

How to Access Country Reports on BSC
Watch this Youtube video from Cambridge Judge Business School to learn how to access country reports on Business Source Complete.

Country Information on the web

Global Insights by Country
Global Insights, part of GlobalEdge, a knowledge web-portal created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), providesstatistical data for nearly every country around the world. In addition to statistics, historical, economic, and political conditions are available; use the Executive Memos for fingertip access to current information and the globalEDGE network to locate members in each country.
UN Data
A data access system to UN databases containing over 60 million data points covering a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators. It also includes Country Profiles.
UNDP Human Development Country Profiles
The Human Development Report Office releases five indices each year: the Human Development Index (HDI), the Inequality-Adjusted Human Development Index (IHDI), the Gender Development Index (GDI), the Gender Inequality Index (GII), and the Multidimensional Poverty Index (MPI). Data used in these indices and other human development indicators included here are provided by a variety of public international sources and represent the best statistics available for those indicators at the time of the preparation of the annual report.
World Development Indicators (WDI)
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
World Bank WDI Country Pages
International Monetary Fund (IMF): Country Information
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 188 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
Doing Business
From the World Bank Group, the Doing Business project provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 190 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level.
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
Brief informational reports on a country from the U.S. State Department.
Country Studies
Electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world.

CIA World Factbook

World Factbook - CIA
Call Number: online
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

Europa World Year Book

The Europa World Year Book by Europa Europa Publications (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection -- 1st floor: JN1 .E85 2017
ISBN: 1857438191
Europa World Year Book provides detailed country surveys containing the latest political and socio-economic analysis, and statistical and directory information for over 250 countries and territories.

Democratic Governance

Countries at the Crossroads by Sanja Tatic and Christopher Walker (eds.)
ISBN: 9780742558007
Published from 2004 to 2012, Countries at the Crossroads was an annual analysis of government performance in 70 strategically important countries worldwide that are at a critical crossroads in determining their political future.

International Governments and Organizations

Links to Foreign Governments and International Organizations - from Northwestern University Library
United Nations - links to a wealth of information about UN programs and missions, member states, and maps
NATO - information on NATO efforts around the world, and links to online archive of NATO publications
The European Union - links to member states, publications and items in the news
FIRST - Facts on International Relations and Security Trends (FIRST) includes information on arms production and trade, peacekeeping, and politics around the world and is provided by the Stockholm International Peace Institute in cooperation with many other international organizations
World Government Links from GovSpot

Lucy Scribner Library

International Affairs: Country Information