Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International Affairs data sources
Homeland Security Digital Library
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
United Nation Military Expenditure Statistics
Since 1981, many countries have regularly reported their military expenditure to the United Nations. This helps enhance transparency in armaments and contributes to international security by fostering trust and confidence among countries. Access to all information from the UN Report on Military Expenditures database is now a click away.
the Correlates of World (COW) project
COW seeks to facilitate the collection, dissemination, and use of accurate and reliable quantitative data in international relations.
Global Terrorism Database
Managed by the National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START), the Global Terrorism Database™ includes more than 200,000 terrorist attacks dating back to 1970.
Intelligence in Congress
The full text of Congressional Floor Debates, Hearings, and Reports, 1989-present.
United Nations Treaties Collection
The United Nations Treaty Collection contains information regarding the activities of the Treaty Section of the United Nations Office of Legal Affairs, including full text and metadata of international treaties.
Freedom House is a non-profit, majority U.S. government funded organization in Washington, D.C., that conducts research and advocacy on democracy, political freedom, and human rights. This page contains their report AND their datasets.
Multi-subject data sources
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
RFE: Resources For Economists: Data
American Economic Association's links to data on the Internet.
Search for government data from across the U.S. Federal Government.
• Enter keywords in the search box.
• Browse on the left side through types, tags, formats, groups, organization types, organizations, and categories. Clicking on multiple items narrows your search. You can click on the “x” to the side of any single item to remove it from the search, or “clear all” to remove all selected items in a category.
• Search by geospatial area by drawing a boundary box on the map at the left side and clicking “Apply” to find all datasets that are tagged for that geographic area.
A global statistical database, covering all United Nations countries and areas.
Data Citation Index
Part of Thomson Reuters' Web of Science, Data Citation Index provides access to research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation. These connections allow researchers to access an array of data across subjects and regions.
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Geographic Information Systems
For GIS links and data sources see the Library Guide for the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Center. GIS is a framework for gathering, managing, analyzing, and communicating data.