The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language, using today's most advanced technology. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English. Includes the first release of the letter G, containing some 1319 headwords, as well as revised versions of the seven previously published fascicles (1986-2003).

Offers a comprehensive analysis of lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500.

The online searchable American Heritage Dictionary includes English language definitions, pronunciations, and etymologies.

DARE does not include words that are commonly used throughout the United States, but rather focuses on the regional aspects of our language, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another. It includes audio clips and quotations from the DARE Survey conducted 1965-1970, and an interactive map in addition to the maps that were included in the print version. DARE survey data compiled and edited at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Searchable database offers access to the full range of Merriam-Webster products in their unabridged form. Also includes access to a blog, word games, lists, word of the day, videos, quizzes, and trends.

Spans the full sweep of literary genres, figures, and global contexts that define this influential period. It comprises over 330 fully cross-referenced entries, combining in-depth omnibus essays exploring major topics, including the novel, plays, poetry, and global Victorian studies, with succinct articles on themes such as cosmopolitanism, journalism, race, sexuality, and reading.

The Literary Encyclopedia is an original literary reference work, written by specialists from universities around the world. It provides over 3200 authoritative profiles, usually around 2500 words in length, of authors, works and topics written by over 1200 experts.

Search several literary encyclopedias from Oxford University Press.

Offers biographies of prominent American men and women no longer living-- searchable by name, occupation, sex, birth date, death date, birthplace, contributor, and keyword. Illustrations and links to external web sites are available.

Features thousands of scholar-written, signed biographical and critical articles on writers from all cultures, genres, and time periods. Based on the Gale print series Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Provides access to information pertaining to literary criticism and related fields. Offers articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

Biographies of noteworthy people, no longer living, who inhabited or were connected with the British Isles. Portraits included for more than 10,000 entries.