Subject Guides: Black Studies: Data

Library Databases

Sage Data
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Social Explorer
Research tool that allows you to visually analyze and understand the demography of the U.S. through the use of interactive maps and data reports.

Websites

There's a plethora of data repositories and websites where you can find data sets.

American Community Survey (ACS)
The American Community Survey helps local officials, community leaders and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed information about the American people and workforce.
American National Election Studies
Data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists.
CensusScope
CensusScope is an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends, brought to you by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan.
Data.gov
Includes downloadable raw data from the U.S. Government.
Federal Election Commission Election Results
Includes Excel files, 2004+. Presidential and Senate by state; House by Congressional District.

ICPSR
The Web site provides quick and easy access, with efficient search and browse capabilities, to the world's largest archive of more than 28 digital datasets in social sciences and related areas. The site also provides information about ICPSR and its services and programs, as well as other related resources and instructional documentation.

Census Data
The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
IPUMS USA
IPUMS USA collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
SDA: Survey Documentation and Analysis
SDA is a set of programs for the documentation and Web-based analysis of survey data.
State Data Center
Cooperative program between the states and the Census Bureau that was created in 1978 to make data available locally to the public through a network of state agencies, universities, libraries, and regional and local governments
Statistical Abstract of the US - ProQuest
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Bureau of Justic Statistics
The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS), through its Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center (FJSRC), compiles information describing suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system.
Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool
The Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool is brought to you by the Office of Postsecondary Education of the U.S. Department of Education. This analysis cutting tool was designed to provide rapid customized reports for public inquiries relating to campus crime and fire data.
FBI Crime Statistics
Publishes statistical reports on several types of crime. Publications include Crime in the US and Hate Crime Statistics. As of November 6, 2020, the FBI’s Crime Data Explorer (CDE) replaces the UCR data tool.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) preserves and distributes computerized crime and justice data from Federal agencies, state agencies, and investigator initiated research projects to users for secondary statistical analysis.
National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS)
Unlike the UCR, this national study of U.S. residents captures information on unreported as well as reported crimes. Since 1973 (previously known as National Crime Survey).
Safety and Health Statistics
The Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (IIF) program provides annual information on the rate and number of work-related injuries, illnesses, and fatal injuries, and how these statistics vary by incident, industry, geography, occupation, and other characteristics. These data are collected through the Survey of Occupational Injuries and Illnesses (SOII) and the Census of Fatal Occupational Injuries (CFOI).

Agricultural Data and Statistics
Annual publication on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
BEA - Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA is an agency of the Department of Commerce. Along with the Census Bureau, BEA is part of the Department's Economics and Statistics Administration.
BEA produces some of the most closely watched economic statistics that influence the decisions made by government officials, business people, households, and individuals. BEA's economic statistics, which provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy, are key ingredients in critical decisions affecting monetary policy, tax and budget projections, and business investment plans. The cornerstone of BEA's statistics is the national income and product accounts (NIPAs), which feature the estimates of gross domestic product (GDP) and related measures.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the federal government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. The BLS is an independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other federal agencies, state and local governments, business, and labor. The BLS also serves as a statistical resource to the Department of Labor.
Census Bureau Economic Statistics
This Overview describes Census Bureau programs that provide statistics about U.S. businesses and governments. Each description includes links to data products, related programs and additional information. "Programs" are major data collection, business list and research data operations, including some funded by other agencies or sponsors. All active programs are included along with discontinued programs of continuing interest. Links are provided to electronic data elsewhere at this site.
Consumer Price Index (CPI)
The Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services.
Department of the Treasury
Click on the Data menu
FRASER
Economic research from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Historic economic and banking publications, including the Annual Statistical Digest.
Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID)
Information on these individuals and their descendants has been collected continuously, including data covering employment, income, wealth, expenditures, health, marriage, childbearing, child development, philanthropy, education, and numerous other topics.

AARP Research
AARP Research uncovers compelling insights on people 50-plus through rigorous, original research.
Association of Religion Data Archives
There are nearly 950 data files included in the ARDA collection. You can browse files by category, alphabetically, view the newest additions, most popular files, or search for a file. Once you select a file you can preview the results, read about how the data were collected, review the survey questions asked, save selected survey questions to your own file, and/or download the data file.
CDC - Adolescent and School Health
Surveillance is the ongoing collection, analysis, and interpretation of data from generalizable samples. CDC’s Division of Adolescent and School Health (DASH) collects data on youth and school health policies and practices.
CDC Data
Center for Disease Control and Prevention
ChildStats Data Tools
This web site offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education.
County Health Rankings and Roadmaps
The County Health Rankings provide a snapshot of a community’s health and a starting point for investigating and discussing ways to improve health.
GHDX - US Data
The Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) is an independent global health research center at the University of Washington. The Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) is a data catalog created and supported by IHME.
Guttmacher Institute
Build, download and share custom tables, graphs and maps utilizing data on key sexual and reproductive health indicators from the Guttmacher Institute and other trusted sources.
National Center for Education Statistics
"The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations." -NCES website

The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program
The DHS Program has collected, analyzed and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV and nutrition through more than 300 surveys. In over 90 countries.
Gender Data Portal
The Gender Data Portal is the World Bank Group’s comprehensive source for the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering demography, education, health, access to economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency.
Global Health Data Exchange (GHDX)
Welcome to the GHDx, the world’s most comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data. It’s the place to start your health data search.
Global Health Observatory (GHO) data @WHO
The Global Health Observatory theme pages provide data and analyses on global health priorities. Each theme page provides information on global situation and trends highlights, using core indicators, database views, major publications and links to relevant web pages on the theme.
Human Development Reports - Data
In 1990 the first Human Development Report introduced a new approach for advancing human wellbeing. Human development – or the human development approach - is about expanding the richness of human life, rather than simply the richness of the economy in which human beings live. It is an approach that is focused on people and their opportunities and choices.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
IPUMS
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community context.
The Quality of Government Institute - QoG Datasets
The flagship datasest is the QoG Standard Dataset, which is available in both cross-section and time-series. The QoG Basic Dataset is easier to use, offering the most used and the most qualitative variables in terms of data from the QoG Standard Dataset. The QoG OECD covers countries who are members of the OECD. The EU Regional Data consists of approximately 450 variables from Eurostat and other sources. The QoG Expert Survey is a dataset based on our survey of experts on public administration around the world.
United Nations Surveys on Crime Trends and the Operations of Criminal Justice Systems (UN-CTS)
The major goal of the United Nations Surveys on Crime Trends and the Operations of Criminal Justice Systems is to collect data on the incidence of reported crime and the operations of criminal justice systems with a view to improving the analysis and dissemination of that information globally. The survey results provide an overview of trends and interrelationships between various parts of the criminal justice system to promote informed decision-making in administration, nationally and internationally.
The World Bank - DataBank
Databank (databank.worldbank.org) is an online web resource that provides simple and quick access to collections of time series data. It has advanced functions for selecting and displaying data, performing customized queries, downloading data, and creating charts and maps. Users can create dynamic custom reports based on their selection of countries, indicators and years.
World Happiness Report
"The World Happiness Report is a landmark survey of the state of global happiness. The first report was published in 2012, the second in 2013, and the third in 2015. The reports review the state of happiness in the world today and show how the new science of happiness explains personal and national variations in happiness."
World Values Survey
"The WVS is the largest non-commercial, cross-national, time series investigation of human beliefs and values ever executed, currently including interviews with almost 400,000 respondents. Moreover the WVS is the only academic study covering the full range of global variations, from very poor to very rich countries, in all of the world’s major cultural zones."-WVS website

Lucy Scribner Library

Black Studies