Subject Guides: GIS Center for Interdisciplinary Research: Find GIS Data

Library Databases

GeoRef
GeoRef indexes journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses covering a variety of geosciences topics. Geology of North America is coveredf from 1785 to the present and geology of the world is covered from 1933 to the present.
Web of Science Core Collection
Web of Science™ Core Collection provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide—including open access journals—and over 160,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage dating back to 1900. Focus on the essential data from across more than 250 disciplines.
Global Commodities
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices. Click on the "Data & Maps" tab to dig deeper.

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
The Web site provides quick and easy access, with efficient search and browse capabilities, to the world's largest archive of more than 28 digital datasets in social sciences and related areas. The site also provides information about ICPSR and its services and programs, as well as other related resources and instructional documentation.

Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. Information can be downloaded in a variety of formats including Excel spreadsheets.

General Data

ArcGIS Hub Over 25,000 free data sets sorted by category and in a searchable database.
Data.gov Home of the US Government's open data, this site contains a variety of economic, climate, consumer, and geospatial data.
DIVA-GIS Download data for any country in the world - administrative boundaries, roads, railroads, topography, land cover, and population density.
Earth Explorer Query and order satellite images, aerial photographs, and cartographic products through the U.S. Geological Survey.
Geoplatform.gov The GeoPlatform provides shared and trusted geospatial data, services, and applications for use by the public and by government agencies and partners to meet their mission needs. It has a searchable catalog of datasets in a variety of formats.
Natural Earth Data Free vector and raster map data on a variety of scales.
USGS National Map This site is maintained by the US Geological Survey and offers a variety of data sets for topography, hydrography, health, environmental, transportation, and agriculture.
GIS Data Starting Points A great roundup of data resources maintained by the Duke University GIS Center.
ESRI Data & Maps The Esri Maps and Data group provides access to online maps, apps, and tools published by Esri that are available to you to use in your work.
Wikipedia List of GIS data sources This is a list of GIS data sources (including some geoportals) that provide information sets that can be used in geographic information systems (GIS) and spatial databases for purposes of geospatial analysis and cartographic mapping. This list categorizes the sources of interest.
Living Atlas of the World The Living Atlas is the foremost collection of authoritative, ready-to-use global geographic information ever assembled. The Living Atlas enables the exploration of people and places around the world, as well as the natural and man-made influences that impact them.
Data Planet Statistical Data Sets Data Planet Statistical Datasets provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The Data Planet repository contains more than 52 billion data points from more than 75 source organizations. The over 6.2 billion datasets in Data Planet provide immediate access to data presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry.
Data Planet LibGuides Subject Guide
List of 1,400 GIS Data Servers by Joseph Elfelt- MappingSupport.com If you are looking for government GIS data anywhere in the USA then you might want to take a look at this list I curate as a public service. The list now has 1,400+ addresses for ArcGIS servers from the federal level down to the city level.

United States Socio-Economic Data

US Census Bureau Tools & Apps Find information using interactive applications to get statistics from multiple surveys.
US Census Bureau Fact Finder Search American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.
US Census Bureau TIGER Products TIGER products are spatial extracts from the Census Bureau's MAF/TIGER database, containing features such as roads, railroads, rivers, as well as legal and statistical geographic areas. The Census Bureau offers several file types and an online mapping application.
National Historical GIS The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides population, housing, agricultural, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for geographic units in the United States from 1790 to the present.

United States Natural Resource and Environmental Data

New York State & Local Data

NY State GIS Clearinghouse
Capital District Regional Planning Commission (CDRPC) Census Data
Cornell University Geospatial Information Repository (CUGIR)
NY State data.gov
NY State Health Data
NY Department of Labor
NY State Geological Survey
NY State Orthoimagery
NY Climate Change Science Clearinghouse
Bytes of the Big Apple The BYTES of the BIG APPLE™ family of software, data and geographic base map files can be downloaded here for free.

State Data

Data for the US (by state)
A variety of links to state GIS data from MIT Libraries.
List of 1,400 GIS Data Servers by Joseph Elfelt- MappingSupport.com If you are looking for government GIS data anywhere in the USA then you might want to take a look at this list I curate as a public service. The list now has 1,400+ addresses for ArcGIS servers from the federal level down to the city level.
Data by State
List of state GIS portals from Northwestern University.

International Data

Eurostat Regions "Your key to European statistics." National figures alone cannot reveal the full and sometimes complex picture of what is happening at a more detailed level within the European Union (EU). In this respect, statistical information at a subnational level is an important tool for highlighting specific regional and territorial aspects.
UN Food & Agriculture Organization FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.
UN Statistics Offices Links The United Nations Statistics Division, in its mission to promote the development of national statistical systems, has developed a central repository of country profiles of statistical systems. The country profiles include, among others, a brief history of the country's statistical system, legal basis, the statistical programme and much more.
World Bank DataBank DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
World Resources Institute (WRI) Maps & Data WRI produces maps, charts, data sets, infographics, and other visual resources as part of our commitment to turn “information into action.”

Lucy Scribner Library

GIS Center for Interdisciplinary Research: Find GIS Data

Library Databases

General Data

United States Socio-Economic Data

United States Natural Resource and Environmental Data

New York State & Local Data

State Data

International Data