Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A great resource for staying up to date on the latest developments in the industry. You can find news, blogs, job listings, and discussion boards.
Learn more about the GIS industry here. Good information on learning GIS, professional development, and career advice.
ESRI News ArcWatch
GIS news, views, and insights with monthly articles.
GIS news including technology reviews and opinion pieces.
Geospatial news from a variety of disciplines.
Articles, job postings, tech reviews, and tips.
An interview blog on geotechnology and culture with a focus on opensource materials.
A collection of maps and other data visualization projects.
Library of Congress blog about geography & maps.
Mapscaping - Geocandy
A blog with interesting links and fun articles related to mapping.
eSpatially New York
A blog that focuses on "Perspectives on the Geospatial Community in the Empire State".
Cool Maps [kool maps] noun: A collection of creative maps that use the Esri Mapping Platform to demonstrate how solutions can be enriched with the power of location.
Earth: a global map of wind, weather, and ocean condtions
A visualization of global weather conditions forecast by supercomputers updated every three hours. Ocean surface current estimates updated every five days. Ocean surface temperatures and anomaly from daily average (1981-2011) updated daily. Ocean waves updated every three hours.
A guide to public domain spatial data.
A collection of cartograms - maps with territories resized according to the data of interest. Includes links to the data.
Podcasts & Videos
Speaking of GIS
A podcast about GIS and the people who make it happen.
Discussions on geography and geospatial technology. Includes links to A Very Spatial podcast and VerySpatial TV.
The Mapscaping Podcast
They are fascinated by the geospatial / mapping industry, but couldn't find a podcast that kept them up to date with what is happening in terms of new ideas.
So they made their own .....
Saratoga Maps Collection
Beginning with the 1872 illustrated map of Saratoga by R.F. Dearborn, and the 1880 map of Woodlawn Park—the infamous residence of Mr. Henry Hilton and the current location of Skidmore College—the Saratoga Maps Collection offers a rich insight into the history of Skidmore, Saratoga Springs, and Saratoga County. This collection spans almost 100 years, providing views of the area from different time periods and perspectives. The original maps are housed in Special Collections & Archives.
Search over 14.0 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 3.0 million online images.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Provides open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's collections.
Digital Public Library of America
DPLA Primary Source Sets explore topics through primary sources. Drawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, the sets use photographs, posters, sheet music, and more.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Search by subject or by division to find maps, manuscripts, video, audio, photos, newspapers and many other resources.
GIS Books in the Library
Here's a sample of some books and e-books you might find interesting. You can find many more in the Library.
Map: exploring the world by 300 stunning maps from all periods and from all around the world, exploring and revealing what maps tell us about history and ourselves. Map: Exploring the World brings together more than 300 fascinating maps from the birth of cartography to cutting-edge digital maps of the twenty-fist century. The book's unique arrangement, with the maps organized in complimentary or contrasting pairs, reveals how the history of our attempts to make flat representations of the world has been full of beauty, ingenuity and innovation. Selected by an international panel of curators, academics and collectors, the maps reflect the many reasons people make maps, such as to find their way, to assert ownership, to record human activity, to establish control, to encourage settlement, to plan military campaigns or to show political power. The selection includes the greatest names in cartography, such as James Cook, Gerard Mercator, Matthew Fontaine Maury and Phyllis Pearsall, as well as maps from indigenous cultures around the world, rarely seen maps from lesser'known cartographers, and maps of outstanding beauty and surprising individuality from the current generation of map makers.
Publication Date: 2015-09-04
GIS: a short introduction by This guide enables students of human geography to take a critical look at the set of practices, hardware and software that are together described as GIS. A guide to GIS for students of human geography. Outlines the distinct approaches to inquiry employed in GIS and illustrates their relevance for human geographers. Traces the history of GIS and human geography from 1970 to the present. Illustrates the challenges of data collection, classification in the context of multiple stakeholders and epistemological approaches. Tracks the use of GIS in applied contexts through the stages of problem definition, data acquisition and classification, choice of software, spatial analysis and graphic output. Includes an inventory of tools and information related to GIS, including web-based resources. Supported by a website, www.blackwellpublishing.com/schuurman.
Call Number: G70.212 .S38 2004
Publication Date: 2004-05-31
Making Maps, Third Edition by Lauded for its accessibility and beautiful design, this text has given thousands of students and professionals the tools to create effective, compelling maps. Using a wealth of illustrations--with 74 in full color--to elucidate each concisely presented point, the revised and updated third edition continues to emphasize how design choices relate to the reasons for making a map and its intended purpose. All components of map making are covered: titles, labels, legends, visual hierarchy, font selection, how to turn phenomena into visual data, data organization, symbolization, and more. Innovative pedagogical features include a short graphic novella, good design/poor design map examples, end-of-chapter suggestions for further reading, and an annotated map examplar that runs throughout the book. New to This Edition *Expanded coverage of using mobile digital devices to collect data for maps, including discussions of location services and locational privacy. *New and revised topics: how to do sketch maps, how map categories and symbols have changed over time, designing maps on desktop computers and mobile devices, human perception and color, and more. *Separate, expanded chapter on map symbol abstraction. *Additional case studies of compelling phenomena such as children's traffic fatalities based on race, the spread of tropical diseases, and the 2012 presidential election. *Many additional color illustrations.
Publication Date: 2016-06-27
Geographic Information: organization, access, and use by The history and future of geographic information (GI) in the context of big data creates new avenues of concern over its organization, access and use. In this book the authors explore both the background and present challenges facing the preservation of GI, focusing on the roles of librarians, archivists, data scientists, and other information professionals in the creation of GI records for its organization, access, and use.
ISBN: 9783319227894 (electronic resource)
Publication Date: 2016-11-02
Geographic Information Analysis by Clear, up-to-date coverage of methods for analyzing geographical information in a GIS context Geographic Information Analysis, Second Edition is fully updated to keep pace with the most recent developments of spatial analysis in a geographic information systems (GIS) environment. Still focusing on the universal aspects of this science, this revised edition includes new coverage on geovisualization and mapping as well as recent developments using local statistics. Building on the fundamentals, this book explores such key concepts as spatial processes, point patterns, and autocorrelation in area data, as well as in continuous fields. Also addressed are methods for combining maps and performing computationally intensive analysis. New chapters tackle mapping, geovisualization, and local statistics, including the Moran Scatterplot and Geographically Weighted Regression (GWR). An appendix provides a primer on linear algebra using matrices. Complete with chapter objectives, summaries, "thought exercises," explanatory diagrams, and a chapter-by-chapter bibliography, Geographic Information Analysis is a practical book for students, as well as a valuable resource for researchers and professionals in the industry.
ISBN: 9781119023876 (e-book)
Publication Date: 2014-07-30
Building Mapping Applications with Qgis by If you are an experienced Python developer who wants to create your own geospatial applications with minimum fuss, this is the book for you. While some familiarity with mapping applications would be an advantage, no prior knowledge of geospatial concepts is required. Even if you've never used QGIS before, this book will quickly get you up to speed.
ISBN: 9781783984671 (e-book)
Publication Date: 2014-12-30
Image Processing and GIS for Remote Sensing by Following the successful publication of the 1st edition in 2009, the 2nd edition maintains its aim to provide an application-driven package of essential techniques in image processing and GIS, together with case studies for demonstration and guidance in remote sensing applications. The book therefore has a "3 in 1" structure which pinpoints the intersection between these three individual disciplines and successfully draws them together in a balanced and comprehensive manner. The book conveys in-depth knowledge of image processing and GIS techniques in an accessible and comprehensive manner, with clear explanations and conceptual illustrations used throughout to enhance student learning. The understanding of key concepts is always emphasised with minimal assumption of prior mathematical experience. The book is heavily based on the authors' own research. Many of the author-designed image processing techniques are popular around the world. For instance, the SFIM technique has long been adopted by ASTRIUM for mass-production of their standard "Pan-sharpen" imagery data. The new edition also includes a completely new chapter on subpixel technology and new case studies, based on their recent research.
ISBN: 9781118724170 (e-book)
Publication Date: 2016-01-04
Lakes of the World with Google Earth by Featuring satellite imagery from Google Earth, this guide provides a unique, highly visual tour of lakes across the globe, from the simple to the complex, the nearby to the remote. Clear text accompanies each image and identifies important aspects of each lake along with such information as its coordinates, scale, and altitudes, if relevant. From the many aspects of lake science including water budgets, temperature regimes, mixing types, biology/ecology, and chemistry, the book concentrates on the genesis of lakes and other closed forms containing water, moisture/swamps or minerals. Its organisation follows different forms of lake origin (often connected to the question of age) such as extra-terrestrial meteor impacts, structural depressions by tectonic activity, patterning of joints or faults, volcanic origin, or the forming influence of glacier ice, subterranean permafrost, littoral processes, running water, wind, and solution of rocks (karst forms). Coverage also deals with temporal variations in lake existence within the context of climate change in the past and the future. In addition, special chapters are devoted to saline (or salt) lakes, and -- in their evaporated forms -- to saltpans. Providing essential information at a glance, this guide will be help both specialists and general readers better understand the world's lakes as well as see them in a new perspective.
ISBN: 9783319296173 (e-book)
Publication Date: 2016-06-14