Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Collins Dictionary of Business defines marketing as "the managerial process of identifying customer requirements and satisfying them by providing customers with appropriate products in order to achieve the organization's objectives."
See the Credo Reference topic page on Marketing for more information.
U.S. Data Sources
Consumer Expenditure Survey (BLS)
The Bureau of Labor Statistics' Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program consists of two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
Statistical Abstract Series
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published by the federal government since 1878 until 2012, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. ProQuest Statistical Abstract has replaced this publication. (see below)
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
RKMA Market Research Handbooks
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA), founded in 1972, publishes handbooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace. Each report breaks down into industry segments and covers market assessment, trends, demographics and more.
New Database: MarketLine
Marketline This link opens in a new window
MarketLine provides original industry, company, market analysis, and country reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. This growing collection currently includes 3,500 industry profiles; market data on 150 consumer products in over 60 countries; 30,000 company profiles; 2,500 company SWOT analyses; summaries of 50,000 M&A and financial deals; 110 country profiles; and economic and demographic indicators for 215 countries. The market data and economic indicators may be downloaded for spreadsheet analyses.
Historical Market Research Database
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 This link opens in a new window
Collection of proposals, pilot studies, advertisements, reports, memorandums, letters, and supporting material created by Ernest Dichter and the Institute for Motivational Research.
Marketing and Consumer Databases
Hover over the links below for information about these Marketing and Consumer Databases.
Market Intelligence Library
Market Intelligence (Export.gov)
Export.gov is the U.S. Government's portal to international trade and market research resources. The Market Intelligence Library contains more than 100,000 industry and country-specific market reports, including Country Commercial Guides ("doing business" guides), Industry Reports and Top Market Reports. Export.gov is managed by the U.S. Department of Commerce's Commercial Service in collaboration with other Federal agencies that offer export assistance programs and services.
- Country Commercial Guides - Market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries prepared by trade and industry experts at U.S. embassies worldwide.
- Top Market Reports - Economists and trade experts analyze and rank industry opportunities in key overseas markets.
- Industry Information - Find the latest market intelligence, trade events, and trade leads for your industry.
- Trade data & Analysis - A variety of databases and tools detailing international trade statistics.
Subjects: American Studies
, Health and Human Physiological Sciences
, Management & Business
, Media & Film Studies
, Religious Studies
, World Languages & Literatures