Additional Databases
Research in Sociology often crosses over and connects to other disciplines, so try some of these databases in related fields.
You can also try broader databases and search engines such as Google Scholar and Academic Search Ultimate.
ASA Journals
While many of the journals from the American Sociological Association are indexed in the Sociology databases, you can also browse and search their full-text individually.
Search within a Specific Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper
Our Journal Search lets you search for any periodical (academic journal, magazine, or newspaper). It will tell you if we have access to the full-text of that publication, for what years, and in what databases. You can click on the database link to then browse or search within that specific publication.
What's an Empirical Article?
An empirical article (sometimes call an original research article) is a type of journal article where the author(s) have based their findings on some type of observation or experience (such as an experiment, case study, survey, focus group, field study, etc.).
Empirical articles will use particular headings to identify the different parts of the article. These often include:
These headings may be different depending on the discipline of the article.
Example
If you've found a source that works well for your research, look at their bibliography. There's probably going to be a couple of sources that they've used that you should use as well.
Google Scholar and many of our databases have a "Cited By" or "Times Cited" tool that lets you see what other sources have cited an article. If you've got a good article, see who else cited it. You'll probably find a couple of other sources relevant to your research.
Many of our databases will assign Subjects or Subject Terms to the articles, identifying the main topics of that article. Look at the Subject Terms to see if there are other search terms you should be trying in a database.