Discovery Search
Search for books, eBooks, DVDs, and other physical materials housed within Lucy Scribner Library. This search will search our catalog and many library databases, so you must use the Source Type filter (under All Filters) to limit to the type of source you want like Books and eBooks.
Use WorldCat to search libraries across the country and world to find and request books using Interlibrary Loan (ILL) (5-8 business day delivery time).
Request Book Chapters
While books are physically sent to the library, a book chapter can be requested and is sent electronically as a PDF. If you only need a single chapter from a book, use the "Book Chapter" form in your ILL account. You'll have access to the PDF within 1-3 business days.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Where's My Book?
Sociology books will be located on the 2nd floor of the library. We use the Library of Congress Classification system to organize books on the shelves. The call numbers begin with the letters HM and are then further broken down by subjects within Sociology. There are several additional call number sections that directly apply to Sociology including:
If you're searching for a particular book, check the catalog. Since Sociology is often interdisciplinary, your book may be located in a different subject area.
Reference Sources
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources provide basic information on a topic like names, dates, and definitions. These are great resources to use when narrowing down a topic or to look up unfamiliar terms and concepts when reading scholarly publications like journal articles.
Subject-Specific Online Reference Sources
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by
Named a Best Reference Work for 2009 by Library Journal The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology is published in both print and online. Arranged across eleven volumes in A-Z format, it is the definitive reference source for students, researchers, and academics in the field. This ground-breaking project brings together specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers. It provides: "This is an example of a reference book turned into an e-product intelligently and in a way that transcends the print." --Library Journal An essential reference for expert and newcomer alike, with entries ranging from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics Provides clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts Presents materials that have historically defined the discipline, but also more recent developments, significantly updating the store of sociological knowledge Introduces sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe Offers sophisticated cross-referencing and search facilities Features a timeline, lexicon by subject area, bibliography, and index 11 Volumes www.sociologyencyclopedia.com Updating
General Online Reference Sources
