Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search these databases to find articles in music journals.
If you need an article that is not available through the library, submit an interlibrary loan request.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
"An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews."
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for every aspect of the classical and popular world of music including musicological and organological topics, as well as book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries from more than 850 music periodicals from over 40 countries
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of bibliographic records and abstracts focused on music reference and other music related fields. Offers international coverage of books, bibliographies, conference proceedings, catalogs, discographies, dissertations, ethnographic recordings, Festschriften, films, iconographies, and videos. Covers 1967 to present.
RIPM Jazz Periodicals This link opens in a new window
An essential, unique collection of American jazz periodicals, of great importance to any lover of jazz and its history, and a primary source reference and research tool for all libraries.
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
Rock reviews, articles and interviews from the late 1950s to the present day.
The Rolling Stone Archive This link opens in a new window
The backfile of Rolling Stone, from its launch in 1967 to the present. One of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, it initially sought to reflect the cultural, social, and political outlook of a generation of students and young adults. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture. Major journalists and authors to have contributed include Hunter S. Thompson, Patti Smith, and Tom Wolfe.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Current Contents: Arts & Humanities
Provides access to complete tables of contents, abstracts, bibliographic information and abstracts from recently published editions of over 1,120 scholarly journals. This database is unique in that it is updated daily.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the back issues of a multidisciplinary array of journals. Coverage includes the arts and humanities; the social and political sciences; mathematics and the hard sciences; and business and economics.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, including: print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; and business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.
New York Times Online - Free Access This link opens in a new window
Access provided courtesy of the Student Government Association (SGA), with support from Lucy Scribner Library.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community around the world.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection provides access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and conference proceedings. Includes current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.