Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Streaming Music and CDs
Use these resources to find streaming music and CDs.
Streaming Music Collections
Music Online: American music This link opens in a new window
Music Online: American Music is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
Classical Music Library
The world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. The collection of 50,000-plus tracks includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Music Online: Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
Contemporary world music will contain 50,000 tracks that delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku and more. This database is a complementary database to Smithsonian global sound for libraries - it includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world.
Database of Recorded American Music This link opens in a new window
A collection of sound recordings documenting American music largely ignored by the commercial recording companies. Works can be browsed by work, album or track titles, as well as by artist roles, and date of recording and composition. Some biographical and role information are provided for artists.
Jazz Music Library This link opens in a new window
Jazz Music Library is a collection of jazz recordings which covers thousands of artists, ensembles, albums, and genres, from all over the world, from the beginnings of jazz to today. It's an essential resource for the study and teaching of jazz history, performance, theory, or appreciation.
Music & Performing Arts in Video
Music & performing arts in video combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles.
Music Online This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches audio, video, scores, and full-text reference content from all the Alexander Street Press music databases to which an institution subscribes.
Naxos Music Library, Classical This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues of over 75,000 tracks, including Classical music, Historical recordings, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Whilst listening, users can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.
Naxos Music Library, Jazz This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of titles of the Fantasy catalogue and Naxos Jazz. Works may be searched by featured artist(s), disc / song title and catalogue number.
Popular Music Library This link opens in a new window
Also new to Music Online are close to 140,000 popular music recordings---available only to subscribers of the entire Music Online: Listening suite---featuring pop, punk, musical theatre, hip-hop, and country recordings from twentieth-century artists such as the Sex Pistols, Chicago, a Flock of Seagulls, Tanya Tucker, Liberace, and Rod Stewart.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries This link opens in a new window
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
CDs in the Library
Music CDs, located on the first floor of the Library, can be browsed virtually here.